Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Favorites - how do I?

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎01-19-2009

Favorites - how do I?

Message 1 of 10
(8,473 Views)

How do I convince Favorites that I REALLY want it to start at the channel that I'm stationed at right now?  I'm usually in the 800+ channels yet when I click Favorites it always starts down at the first Favorites that I set up (500 channels).  Then I must Page Up to the 800's so that I see what's on in the 800=0-- channels.  That's a pain and VERY confusing.  If it were to start right where I'm at it would be a simple matter to either do a Page Down to the first 800's or continue on to view the channels beyond where I'm at. 

 

I'm sure there's a way to do this but I have yet to figure it out.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎01-19-2009

Re: Favorites - how do I?

Message 10 of 10
(8,332 Views)

@Justin wrote:

zooky,

 

Well, that might explain why you see different results. I really hope it is not the different level of the IMG, but I would almost bet it is. I hope maybe some other folks from the West Coast that have 1.6.1 will try to replicate your problem, it may be the ony way we know that the problem isreally  that release. And supposedly 1.6.1 is not going to be sent out to other areas of the country, but instead a 1.6.2 will be distributed, fixing the known problems in 1.6.1. But will those fixes fix the problems you are seeing with the Guide?

 

Techman28, or one of the other Verizon techs here, does anybody know if the problem that zooky has identified is in 1.6.1 but not 1.6.0, and will be fixed in 1.6.2? (and does Verizon even agree that what zooky is seeing is a problem?)

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248


f.y.i. - I watched for this problem VERY carefully last night and discovered that it's a 50/50 (50% of the time it did/didn't do it).  I must have ben drawn to the problem during the 50% of the time it didn't work.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Favorites - how do I?

Message 2 of 10
(8,470 Views)
I think if you are on a channel that is in your Favorites, it will start there, try that.
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Favorites - how do I?

Message 3 of 10
(8,449 Views)

Zooky,

 

Are you saying that you have an 800 channel, lets say 840, in your Favorites, and you are actually viewing 840, and you click to view your Favorites and the display of the Favorites shows your first channel, 5xx, rather than 840? That is most certainly not the way it works for me; if I am on any channel that is in my Favorites and I display my Favorites, I see the channel I am currently on, and that is how i think it should work.

 

Now, if for some reason it displays a 5xx channel, and you want to see channels in the 800 range, after displaying the Favorites, just key in the channel you want to go to in the Favorites, such as 840 (0840 will go there faster), and it will immediately go to that channel, or just enter 800 (or 0800), it will go to the channel in you Favorites just below the number you enter if the channel entered does not exist.

 

But as I said at first, if I do understand what your setup is, that is not working correctly.

 

May I also suggest you go to the item I wrote on setting up your Favorites, which appears at the top of the list for FiOS TV, maybe something in there will help  Smiley Happy

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Favorites - how do I?

Message 4 of 10
(8,440 Views)
I think Zooky meant another channel other than what's set up in Favorites.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎01-19-2009

Re: Favorites - how do I?

Message 5 of 10
(8,425 Views)

@Justin wrote:

Zooky,

 

Are you saying that you have an 800 channel, lets say 840, in your Favorites, and you are actually viewing 840, and you click to view your Favorites and the display of the Favorites shows your first channel, 5xx, rather than 840?

That is most certainly not the way it works for me; if I am on any channel that is in my Favorites and I display my Favorites, I see the channel I am currently on, and that is how i think it should work.

 

Now, if for some reason it displays a 5xx channel, and you want to see channels in the 800 range, after displaying the Favorites, just key in the channel you want to go to in the Favorites, such as 840 (0840 will go there faster), and it will immediately go to that channel, or just enter 800 (or 0800), it will go to the channel in you Favorites just below the number you enter if the channel entered does not exist.

 

But as I said at first, if I do understand what your setup is, that is not working correctly.

 

May I also suggest you go to the item I wrote on setting up your Favorites, which appears at the top of the list for FiOS TV, maybe something in there will help  Smiley Happy

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248 


Well, you're understanding of the problem(1st para.) is correct.  You've given me hope that something, somewhere, is not seup correctly.  Actually, that's a BIG ray of hope.  I'll reread your Favorites message (it's a good post but I'm obviously missing something, somewhere).  Now that I know that it SHOULD work the way I want it to I'll roll up my sleeves, pop the hood and see what I can see.

 

THANKS!

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎01-19-2009

Re: Favorites - how do I?

Message 6 of 10
(8,422 Views)
@zooky wrote:



Well, you're understanding of the problem(1st para.) is correct.  You've given me hope that something, somewhere, is not seup correctly.  Actually, that's a BIG ray of hope.  I'll reread your Favorites message (it's a good post but I'm obviously missing something, somewhere).  Now that I know that it SHOULD work the way I want it to I'll roll up my sleeves, pop the hood and see what I can see.

THANKS!

 


p.s. - I tried the trick that you suggested (entering 800 hoping that it would go to the next one in my favorites if 800 doesn't exist in my Favorites.  NoGo - it just promptly put me in the lower0050's - I donno where.  Weird.

Oh well, onwards and upwards.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Favorites - how do I?

Message 7 of 10
(8,416 Views)

zooky,

 

I just had a horrible thought - where are you located? Are you by chance out on the West Coast with the screwed up 1.6.1 level of the IMG? If so, that might explain the difference in operation (and that scares me if that is the difference, what you are describing is most certainly not what I see happening on 1.6.0 here or what I want to see happen in the next release - please Verizon, don't break what isn't broken).

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎01-19-2009

Re: Favorites - how do I?

Message 8 of 10
(8,371 Views)

@Justin wrote:

zooky,

 

I just had a horrible thought - where are you located? Are you by chance out on the West Coast with the screwed up 1.6.1 level of the IMG? If so, that might explain the difference in operation (and that scares me if that is the difference, what you are describing is most certainly not what I see happening on 1.6.0 here or what I want to see happen in the next release - please Verizon, don't break what isn't broken).

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248


Yep!  I'm in the Seattle area.  Settings reveal that I'm running 1.6.1, sigh.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Favorites - how do I?

Message 9 of 10
(8,355 Views)

zooky,

 

Well, that might explain why you see different results. I really hope it is not the different level of the IMG, but I would almost bet it is. I hope maybe some other folks from the West Coast that have 1.6.1 will try to replicate your problem, it may be the ony way we know that the problem isreally  that release. And supposedly 1.6.1 is not going to be sent out to other areas of the country, but instead a 1.6.2 will be distributed, fixing the known problems in 1.6.1. But will those fixes fix the problems you are seeing with the Guide?

 

Techman28, or one of the other Verizon techs here, does anybody know if the problem that zooky has identified is in 1.6.1 but not 1.6.0, and will be fixed in 1.6.2? (and does Verizon even agree that what zooky is seeing is a problem?)

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎01-19-2009

Re: Favorites - how do I?

Message 10 of 10
(8,333 Views)

@Justin wrote:

zooky,

 

Well, that might explain why you see different results. I really hope it is not the different level of the IMG, but I would almost bet it is. I hope maybe some other folks from the West Coast that have 1.6.1 will try to replicate your problem, it may be the ony way we know that the problem isreally  that release. And supposedly 1.6.1 is not going to be sent out to other areas of the country, but instead a 1.6.2 will be distributed, fixing the known problems in 1.6.1. But will those fixes fix the problems you are seeing with the Guide?

 

Techman28, or one of the other Verizon techs here, does anybody know if the problem that zooky has identified is in 1.6.1 but not 1.6.0, and will be fixed in 1.6.2? (and does Verizon even agree that what zooky is seeing is a problem?)

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248


f.y.i. - I watched for this problem VERY carefully last night and discovered that it's a 50/50 (50% of the time it did/didn't do it).  I must have ben drawn to the problem during the 50% of the time it didn't work.

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.