×

Switch Account

Feature requests(s)

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor jackcarp
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Message 81 of 112
(14,662 Views)
I agree 20 hours of HD programing is a joke. I just came from Dish Network and am use to a quality DVR, I was very dispointed when I got back from vacation and found half of my programs didn't record because I ran out of room. The picture quality is great but lets get more HD record time. The picture quality dosn't matter if you don't get to see it.
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,258
Registered: ‎09-11-2008
Message 82 of 112
(14,653 Views)
We need to have the USB port enabled.  I would grab a 500 Gig HD and connect immediately!
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,325
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 83 of 112
(14,645 Views)

@nascar wrote:
We need to have the USB port enabled.  I would grab a 500 Gig HD and connect immediately!

Just enabling the port won't mean that it will recognize a hard drive.  That is additional firmware and then there are the RIAA/MPAA (content providers in general) issues requiring locking the drive to the STB and/or encryption.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 84 of 112
(14,640 Views)

@Keyboards wrote:

@nascar wrote:
We need to have the USB port enabled.  I would grab a 500 Gig HD and connect immediately!

Just enabling the port won't mean that it will recognize a hard drive.  That is additional firmware and then there are the RIAA/MPAA (content providers in general) issues requiring locking the drive to the STB and/or encryption.


 
Thats what I hear that it is a DRM issue. 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,258
Registered: ‎09-11-2008
Message 85 of 112
(14,632 Views)
Sure!  I know all that! But thanks for pointing it out to the less knowledgeable.  Smiley Wink
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 86 of 112
(14,609 Views)

@nascar wrote:
Sure!  I know all that! But thanks for pointing it out to the less knowledgeable.  Smiley Wink

 

I guess I'm one of the "less knowledgeable" 'cause I'm not sure what "DRM" means.  Digital Recorded Media?
Highlighted
Copper Contributor tsk
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-31-2008
Message 87 of 112
(14,608 Views)

DRM: Digital Rights Management.  Essentially copy-protection in the digital age.  Content owners don't want their products to be freely distributed without proper compensation while the public consumers want to be able to fairly make personal copies for personal use (IE: record a copy to a DVR for later viewing).  Movies copied to drives (both internal and external) need to be protected so that they can be viewed legally but can not be distributed illegally.

 

 

For more info check http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_rights_management

 

My understanding, however, is that with Motorola DVRs the issue is not with DRM but rather with handling connection/disconnection of external drives at possibly bad times such as when a movie is in the middle of being recorded to the drive as well as being able to reliably properly identify when a known drive is and is not connected.  DRM is already addressed for internal drives and should not be an issue here.

 

Highlighted
Contributor IngredientX
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-09-2009
Message 88 of 112
(14,585 Views)

FWIW, the Scientific Atlanta DVR box I had with Cablevision tied your recordings straight to the box.  A recording made on one box could not be played on anything else, even a different Scientific Atlanta box.  The only way to get the recording off was to play it back real-time to an external device, like a VCR or a computer with a TV card (though the duplex functionality did make this easier; you could watch channel #1 while dumping the show with channel #2.  The channels went to two separate sets of output jacks on the back of the box).

 

If Verizon and Motorola do go ahead with allowing external devices, I wouldn't be surprised to see a similar arrangement. I know TiVo recordings are much more "open", but there is a precedent for some pretty restrictive DRM on external DVR drives.

Message Edited by IngredientX on 01-19-2009 06:07 PM
Highlighted
Copper Contributor thompa
Copper Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎01-20-2009
Message 89 of 112
(14,503 Views)

The Verizon system is certainly lacking some features that I have grown to like in the UK.

 

  • the ability to set reminders which pop up onto the TV screen when a program is due to start (Virgin Media)
  • being able to set the DVR to record when away from home using either a PC connected to the internet or making a call on a cell phone (Sky and Virgin Media)
  • having a much larger library of programs to watch again... either on the internet or through FIOS (see the BBC iPlayer or Sky viewer)
  • show the length of programs recorded and space used (Sky)
  • When watching Wimbledon Tennis Tournament any of perhaps 8 courts can be selected for viewing live - wouldn't this be tremendous at the US open?

The BBC iPlayer is certainly a leap ahead of what Verizon offers in terms of being available on the TV through Virgin Media and on the Internet at the BBC web site to view past programs either on the computer or on the TV. Only problem is that it isn't available outside of the UK because of Performance Rights issues!
Highlighted
Copper Contributor Shabbis
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 90 of 112
(14,490 Views)

TiVo has an external HD option, so why can't the Moto boxes?

 

They must have figured out the DRM and connectivity issues. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.