Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Feature requests(s)

Reply
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Feature requests(s)

Message 61 of 112
(9,110 Views)

Cheryl,

 

At least some of the icons are documented. When you are looking at the Guide, you can hit the Options key and it will display a small popup. If you scroll down a couple of entries in that popup, you will see a Guide Legend selection. Click on that, and you will see at least some of the icons.Not all of them for sure, but the function is there, Verizon just needs to add all of the icons.

 

OK Verizon, this should be an easy fix, define all of the icons for us. 

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX

markw
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-04-2009

Re: Feature requests(s)

Message 62 of 112
(9,078 Views)

I got off the phone with technical support a little while ago with a different issue and asked about the "inverted triangle". The tech (who was helpful and very pleasant), did not know the answer.  She checked with two other techs (gurus, in her opinion), who both confidently agreed that it indicated that the program was available in Spanish as an SAP if you select Spanish as the preferred language in the Settings menu.   I told her that I was tempted to accept her answer without checking this out as I finally got an answer.  She said I should post the answer on this Forum.   Of course, after we hung up, I I tried it out.  It did not work for me, even when I selected Spanish as the primary language as well.  

 

So it seems to me that this mystery is still unsolved.     

tsk
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-31-2008

Re: Feature requests(s)

Message 63 of 112
(9,029 Views)

@MeatChicken wrote:

@Carl wrote:

Great thread. 

 

First, I would agree with all of the above. I would like to see external storage, the ability to control my HM DVR from the back rooms if I have to, PiP, list by channel in the guide, etc. 

 

"I would like to see the STB have the ability to pass the signals it receives natively to the TV. Let's just say the upgrade birdie visits and gives me a new TV (or receiver), I would like the TV (or receiver) to deinterlace and/or scale if it has a better chipset that the STB...." 

 

 


         I'd like that feature too, but from numerous posts on other forums, it seems that the current Motorola Boxes that Fios uses do not have the ability to do that at all .. It's not a feature that is "hidden", "disabled" or "shut off" in the firmware, simpy waiting for a VZ "update".

 

   


I too would like this feature:  Pass signals through unadulerated.  The motorola QIP-6416 is the first unit I have seen that can't do this Smiley Sad

 

It seems the Motorola boxes really are pretty lousy given all of the problems and limitations I have been finding with them, as described in many forums.  While not being perfect, Scientifc Atlanta (Cisco) STBs and DVRs seem to have fewer problems and more functionality (probably best for a different thread).  Regardless of whether or not the current STBs are able to support a feature request I think it should still be listed here as a voice to Verizon.  Perhaps it could be useful if/when Verizon looks at its next generation of STBs/DVRs?

 

Several problems would seem to be solved if we had the option to:

1) Select which formats are available

2) Choose a default format when a signal does not match one of the available formats

 

Regarding the 480i setting - I've compared side/side my 6416 via HDMI and cablecard to my Pioneer Elite 50" plasma and there is definitely a difference.  I could not get the DVR picture to look anywhere near that of the tuner in the Pioneer.  Regardless of the documentation it would appear to my eyes that a 480i signal is never passed through untouched.

 

Regardless, changing two separate options on two separate screens to a single set of options on one screen (checkboxes for 480i/480p/720p/1080i; One additional selection for default format) would seem easier to both comprehend and use.  In both cases, home users need to pick options but this would keep them together in one spot while also allowing the box to perform minimum amount of processing.  For those that want simple "plug in a cable and turn it on" this would work, while it would also keep all those that have a bigger "itch" for a better display happy.

 

Allowing the box to just pass signals through would also help solve the SD quality problem for so many of us - the box wouldn't screw with the picture (any picture) at all if we didn't want it to.

 

michelliot
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-09-2009

Re: Feature requests(s)

Message 64 of 112
(9,001 Views)

Hi All,

 

Don't know if it was mentioned before, but it would be helpful if there was a star rating attached to the movies.  I realize that there's no accounting for taste, but it's amazing how many boring, uninspiring 2 star movies are out there.  A star rating would at least be a starting point on what one could expect when making the commitment for the next couple of hours.

 

I agree, just progamming what these DTV boxes are already capable of doing, would be all that's necessary to keep Verizon customers on board as long as it's a quality product.  I'm sure that it would cost the company more to do so and it would be great if all the features were standard.  Why not, if physically possible, make certain accessories  an option for the clients who really want them, at least for the time being.

 

Oh, and one more suggestion, I'll bet  MSG (HD) would be appreciated by many.

 

Have a healthy new year,

elliot

Message Edited by michelliot on 01-09-2009 09:52 AM
TimSykes
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Feature requests(s)

Message 65 of 112
(8,993 Views)

@michelliot wrote:

Oh, and one more suggestion, I'll bet  MSG (HD) would be appreciated by many.

 


Is that what is in Chinese food?  :smileyvery-happy::smileywink:

 

TheSanchez
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Feature requests(s)

Message 66 of 112
(8,965 Views)

@michelliot wrote:

Hi All,

 

Don't know if it was mentioned before, but it would be helpful if there was a star rating attached to the movies.  I realize that there's no accounting for taste, but it's amazing how many boring, uninspiring 2 star movies are out there.  A star rating would at least be a starting point on what one could expect when making the commitment for the next couple of hours.

 

I agree, just progamming what these DTV boxes are already capable of doing, would be all that's necessary to keep Verizon customers on board as long as it's a quality product.  I'm sure that it would cost the company more to do so and it would be great if all the features were standard.  Why not, if physically possible, make certain accessories  an option for the clients who really want them, at least for the time being.

 

Oh, and one more suggestion, I'll bet  MSG (HD) would be appreciated by many.

 

Have a healthy new year,

elliot

Message Edited by michelliot on 01-09-2009 09:52 AM

If a star rating for movies was to be implemented where should the ratings come from?  I have personally found movies that I liked that critics and public opnion rated very poorly.  IMDB seems to be a pretty popular source of public opinion for movies.  So I suppose the real problem with a star rating system is that everyone will always have a different opinion and some people might miss out on movies they would actually like.  However, it's a very good idea that I will pass along to development. 

 

TS

TheSanchez
Verizon Telecom
Verizon Content Management Center




Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

IngredientX
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-09-2009

Re: Feature requests(s)

Message 67 of 112
(8,901 Views)

For my first forum post, I'd like to repeat two points.

 

1. More storage space.  Even if it's just allowing a USB drive to be connected to the STB.  1 TB drives are pretty cheap these days.  

2. Picture in picture.  I came from Cablevision in Northern NJ, and their Scientific Atlanta boxes supported PiP.  I'm a big sports fan, so watching two channels at once was something I always wanted.  I really miss it.

cprgolds
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2008

Re: Feature requests(s)

Message 68 of 112
(8,884 Views)

I agree with everything previously stated in this topic...  Particularly DVR drive space.

 

One thing that I haven't seen mentioned is ability to slo-mo dvr playback.  I have trouble viewing the credits at the end of programs.  When I pause them, the info window covers the style of credits that NBC is currently using at the bottom of the screen, and I have to wait for the box to clear. 

 

Maybe this functionality is there, but I sure haven't found it.

 

speedo123
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎08-11-2008

Re: Feature requests(s)

Message 69 of 112
(8,877 Views)

cprgolds wrote:

I agree with everything previously stated in this topic...  Particularly DVR drive space.

 

One thing that I haven't seen mentioned is ability to slo-mo dvr playback.  I have trouble viewing the credits at the end of programs.  When I pause them, the info window covers the style of credits that NBC is currently using at the bottom of the screen, and I have to wait for the box to clear. 

 

Maybe this functionality is there, but I sure haven't found it.

 


It is there, but I haven't seen it documented anywhere (I probably missed that page!).  If you hit the Pause button first, then hit the Fast Forward button, the program will advance in slo-mo.  If you hit the arrow (Jump Ahead button) before you hit the FF button, the program will advance one frame and one more frame each time you hit it.  This sequence also works for slo-mo in reverse by using the RR and JB buttons.

 

Hope that helps!

 

cprgolds
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2008

Re: Feature requests(s)

Message 70 of 112
(8,841 Views)

@speedo123 wrote:
It is there, but I haven't seen it documented anywhere (I probably missed that page!).  If you hit the Pause button first, then hit the Fast Forward button, the program will advance in slo-mo.  If you hit the arrow (Jump Ahead button) before you hit the FF button, the program will advance one frame and one more frame each time you hit it.  This sequence also works for slo-mo in reverse by using the RR and JB buttons.

 

Hope that helps!

 


That helps immensely!  I haven't seen that documented anywhere.  Kudos to you speedo123!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.