×

Switch Account

Fed Up with FiOS DVR 7216 - Convince Me NOT to Buy a TIVO

Fed Up with FiOS DVR 7216 - Convince Me NOT to Buy a TIVO

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Message 1 of 9
(2,451 Views)

My network:  Mid Tier Internet, MultiRoom DVR on Std Def TV, HD STB (to share DVR), 2 basic STBs.

 

I can't tell if it's the DVR itself or if it's the way the programming comes into the house (i.e. bouncing around the internal network), but too often I get chop.  The audio stream stays intact and live, but the video stream chops and drops maybe 5 to 10 frames per second making it really really painful when watching sports.

 

This happens on live TV, it happens on multiple channels, it happens on DVR playback when the DVR isn't recording something else, and DVR playback when the DVR is recording something else.  And this is happening on the TV to which the DVR is connected (so I don't think it's related to multi-room streaming.)  Specifically, it happens a lot and under a host of different circumstances.

 

I have done a few tests on the DVR playback side since I can control it.  I am watching, I get chop, I flip back 10 seconds and play through the same time period again.... no chop.  That tells me it wasn't recording it choppy, it was playing it back choppy, which leads me to conclude this DVR sucks.  It can't handle the most basic function of a DVR - playback on the tv to which it's connected without any issues.  A VCR would do better than this piece of junk.

 

I pay $20 / month for this DVR.  If I have to shell out $300 for a Tivo XL and then pay the same $20 / month to get a DVR that works and doesn't chop up all my programming, then it's worth it to me.  Oh, and don't get me started on how lame I think the DVR software is.  When I pause a sporting event with virtually nothing saved on the DVR, I only get 10 minutes of pause?  And then when it unpauses it takes me back to live tv instead of resuming from the pause?  Absolutely ridiculous - it makes the thing completely unusable for my purposes.  I don't know if this 1.9 software will make a difference, but I'm pretty fed up with this piece of crap DVR BOTH from a hardware and software perspective.

 

Can somebody shed any light on these issues or give me any reason to not ditch the FiOS DVR?  Even worst, is there any indication these problems could be deeper rooted than the DVR?  I would be REALLY **bleep** if I move to TIVO and end up with the same issues.

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 2 of 9
(2,447 Views)

@parsetdx wrote:

My network:  Mid Tier Internet, MultiRoom DVR on Std Def TV, HD STB (to share DVR), 2 basic STBs.

 

I can't tell if it's the DVR itself or if it's the way the programming comes into the house (i.e. bouncing around the internal network), but too often I get chop.  The audio stream stays intact and live, but the video stream chops and drops maybe 5 to 10 frames per second making it really really painful when watching sports.

 

This happens on live TV, it happens on multiple channels, it happens on DVR playback when the DVR isn't recording something else, and DVR playback when the DVR is recording something else.  And this is happening on the TV to which the DVR is connected (so I don't think it's related to multi-room streaming.)  Specifically, it happens a lot and under a host of different circumstances.

 

I have done a few tests on the DVR playback side since I can control it.  I am watching, I get chop, I flip back 10 seconds and play through the same time period again.... no chop.  That tells me it wasn't recording it choppy, it was playing it back choppy, which leads me to conclude this DVR sucks.  It can't handle the most basic function of a DVR - playback on the tv to which it's connected without any issues.  A VCR would do better than this piece of junk.

 

I pay $20 / month for this DVR.  If I have to shell out $300 for a Tivo XL and then pay the same $20 / month to get a DVR that works and doesn't chop up all my programming, then it's worth it to me.  Oh, and don't get me started on how lame I think the DVR software is.  When I pause a sporting event with virtually nothing saved on the DVR, I only get 10 minutes of pause?  And then when it unpauses it takes me back to live tv instead of resuming from the pause?  Absolutely ridiculous - it makes the thing completely unusable for my purposes.  I don't know if this 1.9 software will make a difference, but I'm pretty fed up with this piece of crap DVR BOTH from a hardware and software perspective.

 

Can somebody shed any light on these issues or give me any reason to not ditch the FiOS DVR?  Even worst, is there any indication these problems could be deeper rooted than the DVR?  I would be REALLY **bleep** if I move to TIVO and end up with the same issues.


Have you contacted Verizon support about your problem?  Sounds like your STB is sick.  So if you haven't let Verizon work the problem, you have an important step to take before you consider Tivo or any other solution.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 3 of 9
(2,407 Views)

Try using the Quick Fix (www.verizon.com/repair) for the DVR, and if that doesn't help then open a live chat with Verizon or Call them.

 

Quick Fix for Set Top Boxes

 

 

I don't own a TIVO personally, so I can't speak from experience, but when I priced it out, I definetely wasn't saving money, but I was getting increased functionality.  with the IMG 1.9 release - it brings all those feature differences down to almost no difference.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 4 of 9
(2,378 Views)

Also try.  When watching a live program and you get the chop. hit pause, wait 5-10 seconds and then hit  play. Just run 10 seconds behind the live and see if that clears the issue. If so, then your buffer on the DVR is just too slow. time to replace.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Message 5 of 9
(2,367 Views)

I hit both the DVR and the high def STB I use as the multiroom client with the "reset" zap.  I am going to watch the Flyers game this afternoon.  I have it set to record, and I'm going to start watching about an hour in (i.e. so it will still be recording the game when I start watching from the beginning).  I'm willing to bet $100 that I still see the issue because as somebody else mentioned, it's related to this DVR being a total piece of crap and needing to be replaced.

 

What's funny is, this is the original DVR I got when I signed up only about 6 months ago.  It's always done this, so what you're telling me is that the default equipment they hand out can't perform the basic functions they claim it is supposed to perform?  And for that I'm paying $20 / month?  What other option do I have within Verizon?  Are there newer DVR models that don't have this ridiculous issue.

 

Oh, and while I'm on the topic of the Flyers game, not only can I not just hit pause and come back, but how absolutely absurd that I must a.) record the shows scheduled after the game or b.) schedule the "series" to record just so I can go in and manually extend the recording in order to accomodate for a possible overtime sporting event.  What a joke.  Thank god somebody figured out how to build REAL DVR software with the 1.9 release.  I can't wait to get it.  However, that's only partial consolation - I look at things from a business perspective - how could they have went live with a sub-standard product in the first place and think it was going to pass muster for all the users that have switched off other networks that have much more mature technology?  Bad business - plain and simple.

Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 6 of 9
(2,348 Views)

remember that while you have a problem, most people do not. there are many thousands of those dvr's with Verizon customers that work without issue. Remember that any electronic device will sometimes have issues. So you got a bad one. replace it and be done with it. simple as that.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎10-03-2009
Message 7 of 9
(2,314 Views)

The 7216 DVR in my opionion is a very good DVR.  I have owned Tivo, Replay and DirecTV's HR20 series.  My 7216 never has choppy video.  You either have a problem with your overall setup or it's just a bad DVR.  Do you have any other STB's or just one DVR?  I would swap the DVR and see if that fixes the issue. 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 8 of 9
(2,243 Views)

Your Mileage May Vary (YMMV). I had a QIP6416-2, and was never happy with media manager, or multi-room DVR, to the point that I just gave up on both. I couldn't see paying extra for something that was a major source of aggravation.  

 

I rarely used the 2nd TV, so I moved the DVR to set I did use, and go rid of the other STB.

While Verizon has been through several firmware revision since them, so hopefully at least some of the issues are resolved, I was so turned off that I have had no desire to re-visit the issues..

 

I now have 7232, but have no plans to go back to either the multi-room, or media manager features.At least with the 7232 I am no longer in imminent danger of running out of DVR space.

 

 If I want multi-room, I'd probably go with the Moxi² and Moxi mate. More up front money, but as far as I can tell the TiVo® and Moxi customers are all pretty happy. Ypu give up Video on demand, and Verizon's channel guide (which many here will tell you is no great loss)...

 

 You just need a cable card to use either ($3.99/month from Verizon IIRC).

 

That raises another issue. Sales is not that familiar with cable cards. The only cards now available are the M-Cards,(Which is what you want), and it does require a Verizon  technician for the installation. The sales rep may tell you there is a fee for tech coming out. There actually is NO FEE.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Message 9 of 9
(2,234 Views)

Matheww - This is very helpful.  Thanks for sharing your thoughts.  That's about where I am on the whole multi-room thing - if I'm not using it all that often, then why am I paying more $$ to be annoyed.

 

The 7232 you mention - what DVR is that?  Is that a non-multi-room DVR?  Or is that just a newer version of what I have?  Either way, I do think the next step is to go ahead and call to have it swapped out completely.  But this comes back to the whole point of my post which is:  if I'm going to that trouble (and let me tell you, it's trouble because trying to communicate with the <sarcasm>brain surgeons</sarcasm> that staff Verizon customer service is more painful than root canal), then maybe I'm better suited just going with a 3rd party (Tivo) and making my next call to Verizon a request for a Cable Card.

 

I've read up on the Cable Card process and it sounds like it started out very painfully, but it's improving a bit.  I am worried that I drop the cash for Tivo and then it takes hours of my time and multiple calls / service tech trips to get the thing setup correctly.

 

I'll never understand how Verizon thought they could transition their unionized call centers staffed with workers that only understand land line technology of 30 years ago over to handling calls for a high tech service such as Fios.  What a joke.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.