Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

FiOS TV on a computer

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

FiOS TV on a computer

Message 1 of 6
(10,818 Views)

How can I do this?  I've looked at potential solutions, but I'm not sure if they work.  My computer is not set-up to use CableCARD.  And I'm not exactly sure how TV Tuners work with a digital service like FiOS.  Is it possible to use a set-top box with a computer?  And if not, what else can I do?

 

Edit:  I have Windows Vista with Media Center, so software isn't a problem.  Just need the hardware.

Message Edited by Nariisu on 07-07-2009 05:23 PM
5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-18-2009

Re: FiOS TV on a computer

Message 2 of 6
(10,797 Views)
I think you should be able to use the firewire output on the HDTV boxes (QIP 7100) and stream the feed to your PC as though it were coming from a camcorder. I'm not quite sure how to do this but there is a lot of information on the topic on the the web. Unfortunately there's no simple guide that explains it easily. If anyone has done this it would be great to know since I'd like to give it a shot as well.
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008

Re: FiOS TV on a computer

Message 3 of 6
(10,785 Views)

If you will be satisfied with SD locals, HD locals, and music channels, then order one of the following:

 

AVerMedia AVerTV Combo PCIe ($110, internal PCe card)

Silicondust HDHomeRun ($150, external network device)

 

If you also want record the SD output from the Motorola box in addition to the HD locals, then buy this:

 

AVerMedia AVerTV Combo PCIe ($110, internal PCe card)

 

There are only eight "Clear QAM" tuners supported by Vista Media Center, out of the box.  The above products are the best of those eight.  Note neither of these solutions will allow you to record encrypted HD channels such as Discovery, TNT, USA, HBO, etc.

 

If you are willing to spend $800 or more, then you can build your own CableCard box using one of several motherboards that feature the necessary bios to make the CableCard tuners work.  My recommendations above assume you want to add record capability to an existing PC for under $200.

 

Note HD output quality on a computer can vary quite significantly by video card.  If your PC has an older video card, and you plan to connect your PC to a large monitor or your TV, then you may want to upgrade to something like the ATI 4670 ($70).  If you like to play games, you might spend the extra $30 for the ATI 4850 ($100-$110).

 

There is no benefit to using Firewire over this approach.   Aside from the locals, everything is encrypted through the Firewire output and cannot be recorded with a PC.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: FiOS TV on a computer

Message 4 of 6
(10,771 Views)
Do you know what exact channels I'll get?  I'm not sure which channels are Local.  I live in Tampa, FL, if that helps at all.
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008

Re: FiOS TV on a computer

Message 5 of 6
(10,773 Views)

Through ClearQAM, you will get the HD locals in low 500s, plus any channels 0-50.  Note these channels won't be on the same numbers that you are accustomed to with the Verizon set-top box.  With some effort in Windows Media Center, you can remap and label them as you want so they display with guide data.


Example of "in the clear" channels and their QAM assignments:

 

QAM 55 - WGN SD

QAM 63 - SD  locals

QAM 65 - SD locals

QAM 66 - Weather Channel, Weather Scan, Music Choice channels

QAM 71-75 - HD locals

QAM 82 - Some religious channels

QAM 84 - Urge music channels

QAM 127-128 - Public/Education/Government channels

Message Edited by KenAF on 07-07-2009 11:59 PM
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-05-2009

Re: FiOS TV on a computer

Message 6 of 6
(10,618 Views)

There is a way to connect any STB to a computer (Verizon's STBs included) by just using the video out and IR remote codes

 

First you will want to connect the STB to the cable line and the computer, so connect the coax to the line in on the box, connect it to power, then using either HDMI (HD), Component (HD), S-Video (SD), Composite (SD), or Coax (SD) (coax takes a little bit of work as the Coax needs to stay on either channel 3 or 4, and channels need to be changed via the STB, Windows Media Center should be able to take care of this), at this point, you should now have FiOS/cable service to the STB, and the STB should display on the computer as a video in option (if set up properly), from this point, you can change channels using the remote included with the STB and use your computer as a television screen

 

Next you will want to get the Media Center remote kit from Microsoft, this will include a USB IR receiver, Media Center remote, and an IR Blaster (the IR Blaster will take the job of the STB's remote), connect the USB IR receiver to the computer following the directions that came with the kit, connect the IR Blaster to the IR receiver and put it either above or below the STB closest to the IR sensor on the STB, then you will either want to download the remote file or program the IR Blaster to understand the remote IR codes for your Verizon STB (just think of the IR Blaster as a universal remote controlled by your computer), the computer should now be able to control the STB and either record or display depending on what you have the computer set up to do, keep in mind that you only have one video feed, so you can only view/record one show at a time, and when recording, you can only view the channel being recorded

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.