Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Reply
ursa99
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Message 1 of 10
(1,464 Views)

I have a Samsung Tab S 10.1" Tablet.  When I use FIOS Mobile to view live TV the picture fills the screen completely throwing off the aspect ratio.  Since this video is streaming I assume the aspect ratio is controlled by FIOS and thus would like to know if there is any way to insure that the aspect ratio is always correct for the content and not stretched to fill the screen.  Are there any controls or options I'm missing?..anyone else notice this?

 

Ursa

9 REPLIES 9
PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Message 2 of 10
(1,455 Views)

@ursa99 wrote:

I have a Samsung Tab S 10.1" Tablet.  When I use FIOS Mobile to view live TV the picture fills the screen completely throwing off the aspect ratio.  Since this video is streaming I assume the aspect ratio is controlled by FIOS and thus would like to know if there is any way to insure that the aspect ratio is always correct for the content and not stretched to fill the screen.  Are there any controls or options I'm missing?..anyone else notice this?

 

Ursa


I just checked a number (both the "SD" version below channel 500 and the "HD" versions over channel 500) and I'm not seeing an aspect ratio issue when viewing in non-full screen mode, although I do when viewing in the smaller window that shows channel numbers and menu items.  I'm presuming this is the problem you're describing.

 

I will inquire to the app team about what we're seeing.

ursa99
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Message 3 of 10
(1,444 Views)

The aspect ratio issue rears it's head in full screen mode.  It stretches the picture to fill the screen.  My screen is a bit taller than 1920 x 1080 hence I see stretched faces and bodies etc. Any solutions is much appreciated.

 

Ursa

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Message 4 of 10
(1,437 Views)

Please provide a specific channel number where this is happening.  Apparently each channel has a profile set that is supposed to scale properly and some may not be set correctly.

ursa99
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Message 5 of 10
(1,429 Views)

It happens on all the channels I've tried.  Here are a few:

570, 618, 735, 746.

This is on a Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.1" Android tablet.   Movies that I've uploaded directly to the tablet play just fine...

 

Thanks for any help in solving this.

 

Ursa

ursa99
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Message 6 of 10
(1,428 Views)

Just to be clear this is in full screen mode...

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Message 7 of 10
(1,422 Views)

@ursa99 wrote:

Just to be clear this is in full screen mode...


I understand.  The development team just got back to me and they're looking into it.  I'll post back when I hear anything of interest.

ursa99
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Message 8 of 10
(1,414 Views)

Thanks so much for carrying the message to those who can help.  I really appreciate it.

Ursa

ursa99
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Message 9 of 10
(1,349 Views)

FWIW, My wifes Kindle Fire HDX also stretches the picture to fill the screen...

ursa99
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Fios Mobile Change Aspect Ratio ??

Message 10 of 10
(1,202 Views)

It appears this issue is FIXED with the latest FIOS Mobile update.

Thank you,

 

Ursa

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.