Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Fios TV One Mini Does Not See Fios TV One

SOLVED
Reply
JohnnyH
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-06-2022

Fios TV One Mini Does Not See Fios TV One

Message 1 of 7
(685 Views)

This is my network:


ONT -> FIOS G1100 -> My Own Router.

 

FIOS Router with IP 192.168.1.x
Own Router Network with IP 192.168.2.x

 

Fios TV One and the Mini work fine using the 5G WIFI from FIOS G1100.

However, since the Mini is far from FIOS G1100, so the WIFI is not strong.  I want to change from WIFI to ethernet.  

 

The problem is that I cannot run the ethernet from FIOS G1100 router to the Mini, so I hook up the Mini to my own network.  Now the Fios TV One is on 192.168.1.x network, and the Mini is on 192.168.2.x network.  The Mini reported that it couldn't find the Fios TV One.

 

I played around with the Port Forwarding, but couldn't get it working.  Anyone knows what I should do to make it work?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
JohnnyH
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-06-2022

Re: Fios TV One Mini Does Not See Fios TV One

Message 7 of 7
(550 Views)

The network was configured a long time ago before I upgraded to Fios TV One.  There are couple networks with their own IP block as well.  Also, there are too many stuffs on the network with static IPs.  Do not want to go through and re-configure everything again.  

 

I guess I will either find the way to run ethernet line, or use extender.

 

Thank you everyone.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
clem53
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,756
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fios TV One Mini Does Not See Fios TV One

Message 2 of 7
(676 Views)

@JohnnyH wrote:

This is my network:


ONT -> FIOS G1100 -> My Own Router.

 

FIOS Router with IP 192.168.1.x
Own Router Network with IP 192.168.2.x

 

Fios TV One and the Mini work fine using the 5G WIFI from FIOS G1100.

However, since the Mini is far from FIOS G1100, so the WIFI is not strong.  I want to change from WIFI to ethernet.  

 

The problem is that I cannot run the ethernet from FIOS G1100 router to the Mini, so I hook up the Mini to my own network.  Now the Fios TV One is on 192.168.1.x network, and the Mini is on 192.168.2.x network.  The Mini reported that it couldn't find the Fios TV One.

 

I played around with the Port Forwarding, but couldn't get it working.  Anyone knows what I should do to make it work?


The mini wants to see a hidden network that the G1100 provides. The best way is to use either coax or ethernet to the mini from the G1100. I have seen port forwarding that worked on here somewhere, but can't say myself how it can be done. You might want to PM this CL for his opinion. He's much better at networking than I am. https://forums.verizon.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/310029

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,347
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: Fios TV One Mini Does Not See Fios TV One

Message 3 of 7
(616 Views)

Fios One mini's use SSDP to discover Fios One boxes. SSDP packet is typically set to a TTL of 1 (Time to Live), meaning the SSDP packet cannot travel across two networks. A router in the path would reduce TTL by one, in this case to 0, and the packet is dropped and is probably never reaching the Fios One box.

 

The solution would be to eliminate the 192.168.2.0/24 network and reduce your router into a link device. Depends on the model of your router, the exact procedure may vary. The general steps are 1) assign a vacant static IP onto the router's LAN interface; 2) disable the router's DHCP server; 3) unplugged the WAN cable and plug it to a LAN port of the router.

JohnnyH
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-06-2022

Re: Fios TV One Mini Does Not See Fios TV One

Message 4 of 7
(599 Views)

Thank you so much.

 

 I guess that is the limitation of the Fios TV One Mini.  There is reason that I must have different networks.   So don't think it will work for me.

 

Anyway, I may find the way to run ethernet from the Fios Router to the mini meanwhile.

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,347
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: Fios TV One Mini Does Not See Fios TV One

Message 5 of 7
(592 Views)

It is not necessarily the limitation of Fios One mini's. Some routers are capable of forwarding SSDP packets to a different network by modifying the TTL.

What's your reason of having two networks with double NAT?

clem53
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,756
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fios TV One Mini Does Not See Fios TV One

Message 6 of 7
(554 Views)

@JohnnyH wrote:

Thank you so much.

 

 I guess that is the limitation of the Fios TV One Mini.  There is reason that I must have different networks.   So don't think it will work for me.

 

Anyway, I may find the way to run ethernet from the Fios Router to the mini meanwhile.


Can you use an extender to run the ethernet to the mini from your Fios router? https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-AV600-Powerline-WiFi-Extender/dp/B00HSQAIQU/ref=asc_df_B00HSQAIQU?tag...  Not sure if one of the AC line based extenders would work.

JohnnyH
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-06-2022

Re: Fios TV One Mini Does Not See Fios TV One

Message 7 of 7
(551 Views)

The network was configured a long time ago before I upgraded to Fios TV One.  There are couple networks with their own IP block as well.  Also, there are too many stuffs on the network with static IPs.  Do not want to go through and re-configure everything again.  

 

I guess I will either find the way to run ethernet line, or use extender.

 

Thank you everyone.

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title