Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Fios TV One Mini no handshake w/ Vizio TV - CEC and HDMI

SOLVED
Reply
clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,699
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fios TV One Mini no handshake w/ Vizio TV - HDMI

Message 31 of 36
(850 Views)

@mvc wrote:

Actually tried it on all 3 inputs with same result. It's almost as if there's some type of security thing going on and I have to wonder if it's related to encryption and if the Fios boxes are the culprit. Maybe just not compatible with my TV. Either way if component is sure thing and I can get 1080i will be happy just for that at this point. Paying $200 a month for TV that I can't even enjoy.


Component IS a sure thing. You can get 1080I as long as the converter is able to output it. I really believe Vizio screwed up their encryption in their latest firmware update, and that's why the box can't keep a handshake with the TV.

clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,699
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fios TV One Mini no handshake w/ Vizio TV - HDMI

Message 32 of 36
(840 Views)
mvc
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-17-2019

SOLVED FOR REAL: Fios TV One Mini no handshake w/ Vizio TV - HDMI

Message 33 of 36
(722 Views)

The final solution that actually worked was this:

https://www.radioshack.com/products/hdmi-to-component-converter-adapter

 

Saved me from buying a new TV. 

clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,699
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: SOLVED FOR REAL: Fios TV One Mini no handshake w/ Vizio TV - HDMI

Message 34 of 36
(710 Views)

@mvc wrote:

The final solution that actually worked was this:

https://www.radioshack.com/products/hdmi-to-component-converter-adapter

 

Saved me from buying a new TV. 


Glad you got to where you wanted to be!

mvc
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-17-2019

Re: latest Vizio firmware update has fixed HDMI issue w/ Fios TV One STB

Message 35 of 36
(562 Views)

Updating this to more current status. On Aug. 31 Vizio pushed a new firmware update to my TV and the HDMI issue is now completely resolved and working with Fios TV One. I removed the Radio Shack component cables and can once again use HDMI with CEC. All is well. Confirming that the issue was the previous Vizio firmware which caused the HDMI to stop working the day after that update was pushed.

clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,699
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: latest Vizio firmware update has fixed HDMI issue w/ Fios TV One STB

Message 36 of 36
(552 Views)

@mvc wrote:

Updating this to more current status. On Aug. 31 Vizio pushed a new firmware update to my TV and the HDMI issue is now completely resolved and working with Fios TV One. I removed the Radio Shack component cables and can once again use HDMI with CEC. All is well. Confirming that the issue was the previous Vizio firmware which caused the HDMI to stop working the day after that update was pushed.


Thanks for the update, hope other people will see this.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title