Fios TV One Mini won't initialize after Router Upgrade

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Fios TV One Mini won't initialize after Router Upgrade

Message 1 of 5
(1,356 Views)

I've had Fios TV and internet for years. Our setup the last few years has been:

 

1. Quantum router with the Fios TV One in the main area. Splitter on Coax, also Ethernet to Quantum from ONT and also from Router to Fios TV One

2. Fios TV One Mini in the master connected via Coax

 

The above worked fine, no issues.

 

Recently upgraded to G3100 router and added a 2nd Fios TV mini for another bedroom. This would also connect via Coax.

 

After just swapping out the G3100, connecting it up the same way as the Quantum, I cannot get the new Mini to connect.

 

Mini in the master bedroom continued to work initially, but resetting it yielded the same inability to establish a connection to the network. 

 

Fios TV app on my phone cannot connect to my STBs either with the G3100; it does if I swap back out the Quantum.

 

I've tried a factory reset on the brand new G3100, and resetting the ONT box.  No change.

 

Main TV seems fine, FWIW.

 

I have an appointment with Fios tech support calling me tomorrow, but if anybody else can shed some light it'd be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Fios TV One Mini won't initialize after Router Upgrade

Message 2 of 5
(1,355 Views)

After a day of wrestling with this issue, and only minutes after I posted this plea for help, I found the issue: my 6200 network extender is not compatible with the G3100 apparently.

 

I discovered this reading through some of the G3100 related threads under the Fios Internet forum. Unplugged that device, and immediately the Minis all started to initialize.

 

You'd think Verizon would have some kind of compatibility check on this. They know I have the extender. 

 

Guess I'm also ordering the new extender now too... 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Fios TV One Mini won't initialize after Router Upgrade

Message 2 of 5
(1,356 Views)

After a day of wrestling with this issue, and only minutes after I posted this plea for help, I found the issue: my 6200 network extender is not compatible with the G3100 apparently.

 

I discovered this reading through some of the G3100 related threads under the Fios Internet forum. Unplugged that device, and immediately the Minis all started to initialize.

 

You'd think Verizon would have some kind of compatibility check on this. They know I have the extender. 

 

Guess I'm also ordering the new extender now too... 

View solution in original post

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,881
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Fios TV One Mini won't initialize after Router Upgrade

Message 3 of 5
(1,341 Views)

Unless I am misunderstanding the post there shouldn't be ethernet connected from the Quantum router to the FIOS TV One main server. Only coax should be connected to the server. It gets data from the MoCA connection on the coax.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2020

Re: Fios TV One Mini won't initialize after Router Upgrade

Message 4 of 5
(1,285 Views)

I wasn't sure if it was necessary or not. It doesn't seem to hurt anything, but you're probably right that it doesn't need both.

 

I think it was actually unplugged prior to all this, but only because the latch clip was broken off and it slipped out. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2020

Re: Fios TV One Mini won't initialize after Router Upgrade

Message 5 of 5
(183 Views)

This was not solved. That is an untruth. I was sent to Tech support and am 39th in line. 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.