Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

SOLVED
Reply
rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

Message 1 of 9
(1,356 Views)

Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby.  Just started doing this.  No other problems when I watch tv or power on unit.  Seems to have occurred within the last few weeks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,703
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

Message 9 of 9
(1,081 Views)

First , that is an ancient receiver. It does not support 4K passthrough, so if your Fios box is now set to output 4K you'll have problems. I assume you have the box going to the TV via HDMI,  then out of the receiver to the TV via hdmi. Try turning off the HDMI through feature and see if that stops the problem. Also make sure you have the latest firmware,  version.

Latest Firmware Number (16 digits): 1141-4104-0200-0000

There was an HDMI update a ways back for that receiver. Also try disabling the InstaPrevue feature. Also make sure HDMI Control(RIHD) set to off in the Onkyo hardware setup menu and Fios box output is set to 1080i.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,703
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

Message 2 of 9
(1,333 Views)

Try turning off video input control in the Fios menu.

rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

Re: Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

Message 3 of 9
(1,328 Views)

Do you mean the TV input control?  I tried to disable but no luck.

rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

Re: Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

Message 4 of 9
(1,303 Views)

any other suggestions?

 

clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,703
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

Message 5 of 9
(1,289 Views)

Have you tried powercycling the box and the TV? Any recent firmware updates that could have gone bad? If you unhook the HDMI cable from the Fios box to the TV, does the TV still turn itself on?

rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

Re: Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

Message 6 of 9
(1,169 Views)

I tried shutting both the TV and box off and doing it.  Also, the box is connected to a Onkyo receiver. When I turn the box on to watch TV it is fine. Only flashes when in standby mode.

 

clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,703
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

Message 7 of 9
(1,103 Views)

Try turning off CEC in the Onkyo receiver. It could be sending a signal to the TV to turn on. Also look for nearby sources of RF signals like a telephone or florescent light and move them farther from the equipment.

rld2021
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-07-2020

Re: Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

Message 8 of 9
(1,079 Views)

Thanks for the response.  I do not think my TX-NR717 Onkyo receiver has CEC mode as I can not find it.  I noticed the flashes start up also when I go "on demand" and hit the search button?  when I go out of search the flashing stops.  So far the flash occurs when I place box in standby mode or use search feature.  LiveTV is fine.  does that point to anything?

clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,703
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fios TV One - TV flashes when first turned on and in standby mode

Message 9 of 9
(1,082 Views)

First , that is an ancient receiver. It does not support 4K passthrough, so if your Fios box is now set to output 4K you'll have problems. I assume you have the box going to the TV via HDMI,  then out of the receiver to the TV via hdmi. Try turning off the HDMI through feature and see if that stops the problem. Also make sure you have the latest firmware,  version.

Latest Firmware Number (16 digits): 1141-4104-0200-0000

There was an HDMI update a ways back for that receiver. Also try disabling the InstaPrevue feature. Also make sure HDMI Control(RIHD) set to off in the Onkyo hardware setup menu and Fios box output is set to 1080i.

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title