×

Switch Account

Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-15-2016

Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Message 1 of 13
(10,954 Views)

I have Verizon Fios Internet & TV Bundle and live in Maryland. When I watch any channel I frequently see part of the image cut off on the right or left size. As you might guess – this is very annoying and makes it difficult to understand the news. My television is probably about 10 years old but it has always worked just fine when I lived in Texas. What is causing this problem?

I would attach a snapshot of the image but that option is not allowed, and when I click on insert Photos that options does nothing.

 

12 REPLIES 12
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,825
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Message 2 of 13
(10,918 Views)

Does it happen on  both SD and HD channels?

Have you tried hitting the # button on the remote?

It changes the size of the picture.

Or check the remote for your TV to see if it has a size option.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-19-2016

Re: Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Message 3 of 13
(10,887 Views)

I have the same problem.  New TV last week.  Size button on remote does nothing.  I only have SD.  Any other possible fixes?  Thank you!

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,825
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Message 4 of 13
(10,879 Views)

How are you connecting to TV?

Do you have SD stb or digital adapter?

It might be that TV doesn't display SD content well.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-15-2016

Re: Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Message 5 of 13
(10,863 Views)

With my setup the output from the cable box goes into my Panasonic DVR, and then into the TV. I normally only watch local channels, CBS, NBC, and public television. The display problem is not always noticeable, but for example, if the program left justifies the credits I would not be able to see the first three letters of each word. Yes, I tried the # button on the remote and also various menu options on tv remote. Nothing has fixed this.
fios_tv_display_issue.jpg

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,825
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Message 6 of 13
(10,858 Views)

Try bypassing DVR. It is probably not HD and may be causing an issue.

What outpout of stb is connected to DVR?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,970
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Message 7 of 13
(10,842 Views)

This looks like your using a 4:3 SD TV but have the box set to 16:9 display mode.   I don't have the Vz boxes (I use Tivo), but there should be a video settings menu where you can specify that you have a 4:3 SD TV display.  I'd start your search there.

 

Also, make sure you are watching the SD version of the channel (lower numbers) and not the HD version of the channel (usually starting in the 500's).

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-09-2017

Re: Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Message 8 of 13
(10,778 Views)

For whatever reason, (in my area anyway) FiOS letterboxes all the national channels for the SD only STB but does a 4X3 cutout on the local channels.  There is no setting in the box for this.  

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Message 9 of 13
(10,763 Views)

Probably the "4x3 cutout" is done by the local channel providing the feed to Verizon.  Verizon has chosen to mostly do the letterbox for SD of channels that are provided as 16x9 HD nationally.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-15-2016

Re: Fios TV is trimming off part of my screen display

Message 10 of 13
(10,672 Views)

I am not exactly sure what a 4x3 cutout means, but I suspect this is correct regarding the local channel providing the feed.  And that is because I tried viewing local channels without Fios, and just used the digital converter box on the old TV.  Still got the same result.  I have to wonder if Verizon could offer something to fix this annoying problem.


How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.