Fios Tv remote battery life???
riptor
Enthusiast - Level 2

I've been using my Fios remote for about 4 months now, and I've been exchanging the batteries quite often; About once a month.

Is this normal, or do I own a defective remote?    Thanks.

(Exchanging batteries this frequently is irritating and becoming expensive.
I can recall my old Directv remote's battery life expectancy was a few months, and it required AAAs!!)

Re: Fios Tv remote battery life???
Keyboards
Master - Level 3
Once a month seems excessive.  Are you at least using alkaline batteries?  It would be nice if you could disable the keys lighting up as that probably uses a good percentage of the battery life.
Justin46
Legend

I get probably 3-4 months per set of batteries in mine, and I am an inveterate channel surver so it gets a lot of use. By contrast my wife probably gets 6-9 months from hers, she will watch the same channel for hours, never touching the remote.

As Keyboards asked, what kind of batteries are you using? And have you checked the expiration date on them? I have been using Kirkland brand batteries from Costco for several years, they seem to last pretty good in everything I have put them in.

Keller, TX 76248

0 Likes
riptor
Enthusiast - Level 2
Thanks for the replies, Justin and Keyboards!  I'm using Walgreens "heavy duty powercell" batteries. I purchased those batteries about 2 months ago. Exp.date looks fine.

I haven't used regular alkaline batteries yet. I'll try it next. Keyboards, you definitely have a point regarding that ridiculous 5 second "lasting light" feature on the remote. (The battery life could last at least 3 times longer.)

However, interestingly, I can remember the included batteries with my new Fios remote lasted roughly one month as well.
0 Likes
Keyboards
Master - Level 3