×

Switch Account

Fios cable box possible with Tivo HD ?

Fios cable box possible with Tivo HD ?

Reply
Contributor tammy1
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-24-2009
Message 1 of 5
(13,928 Views)

We just got a Tivo HD.  When I talked to someone at Best Buy, I was told that you could either use the Verizon fios cable box or the cable card. After reading the tivo materials, it says you must use a cable card.  The reason we'd like to keep the box is for on demand.  Is there a way to keep the on demand with tivo?  Is it possible to connect the cable box to the tivo?

4 REPLIES 4
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 5
(13,915 Views)

In theory, you could use a Verizon box with the older Tivo units via composite cables.  This not an ideal solution though.

 

You have basically 3 options:

 

1.  Get a CableCard for the Tivo and keep a Verizon box connected to another input or another TV.

 

2.  Keep only the Verizon DVR with OnDemand access

 

3.  Have only a Tivo with a CableCard without OnDemand access.

Message Edited by sgip2000 on 06-24-2009 08:45 PM
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 3 of 5
(13,917 Views)

@tammy1 wrote:

We just got a Tivo HD.  When I talked to someone at Best Buy, I was told that you could either use the Verizon fios cable box or the cable card. After reading the tivo materials, it says you must use a cable card.  The reason we'd like to keep the box is for on demand.  Is there a way to keep the on demand with tivo?  Is it possible to connect the cable box to the tivo?


You need one CableCard (of the M-CARD variety) for the TivoHD.  This is essentially an access card that authorizes all of the channels you pay for.  The cost is $3.99/mo.

 

The TivoHD has no means to record from another box.  It can only record using its two built-in tuners.

 

You can still keep the Verizon cable box for On Demand, but you would need to connect it to a separate input on your TV.  Modern televisions almost always have multiple A/V inputs.  If you want to simplify switching between the TiVo and Verizon box for On Demand, then you may want to look into the purchase of a Harmony remote.  Harmony remotes are based on activities such as "Watch TiVo" and "Watch cable box;" they automatically switch you to the correct A/V input and they provide all the functions for that device.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Contributor tammy1
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-24-2009
Message 4 of 5
(13,857 Views)

Last night my husband was playing with the inputs and was able to connect the tivo and the fios hd cable box (without cable card) so that we could use either the box or the tivo.  I'm not sure how he did it, so I can't elaborate.  Just wondering if anyone else has done this and, if so, has it worked okay?  Were/are you able to record more than one show this way?

 

We recorded a program while watching it and were able to rewind, fast forward, etc.  We couldn't find the recorded program after the show was over.  Don't know if it's because of the set up or because we only pressed record while we were watching the show or because we just didn't look in the right place.  Gonna try again tonight.

 

 

Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 5 of 5
(13,883 Views)

@tammy1 wrote:

Last night my husband was playing with the inputs and was able to connect the tivo and the fios hd cable box (without cable card) so that we could use either the box or the tivo.  I'm not sure how he did it, so I can't elaborate.  Just wondering if anyone else has done this and, if so, has it worked okay?  Were/are you able to record more than one show this way?


Yes, you can.  The Verizon STB does not affect the TiVo's ability to record.

You won't be able to tune FiOS cable channels on the TiVo until the CableCard is installed.   You would split the coax signal (Radio Shack sells splitters if you don't have one), with one end running to the TiVo and the other running to the FiOS HD STB. 

 

I would recommend you connect both the TivoHD and the FiOS HD STB to separate HDMI inputs on your TV using HDMI cables.  You can order quality, low-cost HDMI cables for $4.00/ea right here.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.