Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

SOLVED
Reply
yourusernameisa
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-13-2017

Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 1 of 19
(6,536 Views)

New release 5.9 (October 5, 2017) of Fios mobile does not work on older Ipads. It works fine with newer Ipads with the latest IOS. The release works fine with the direct network apps.

 

Live programming and DVR programs spin after 10 seconds, recover and then hang after a minute. The "report a problem" tech site suggested a reboot of the box and router, and signing out/in of the app. Did not fix the problem.

 

If enough customers complain maybe Verizon will fix the bug.

 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
yourusernameisa
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-13-2017

Re: Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 6 of 19
(6,389 Views)

FIXED!!!!!

 

Verizon technician replaced the main white box with a new version. The signal problem is fixed.

 

The problem had nothing to do with the update of FIOS Mobile, the IPad 2, or IOS 9.

 

 

 

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
TomH309
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,429
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 2 of 19
(6,472 Views)

My iPad2 running iOS 9.3.5

FiOS Mobile Ver 5.9

Works fine for me.

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
yourusernameisa
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-13-2017

Re: Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 3 of 19
(6,427 Views)

Thank you for letting me know that you are not having problems. 

 

 

 

 

 

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,978
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 4 of 19
(6,399 Views)

There is a report problem option within the app.

I am not sure if you used that or online to help diagnose issue.

Within the app you can create a trouble ticket.

A tech will respond with info. I am not sure about IOS verison but in Adnroid verison, there is an option to send logs.

Try that as well. This can help techs diagnose issue.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
yourusernameisa
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-13-2017

Re: Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 5 of 19
(6,373 Views)

 It turns out that it is a signal problem. After chatting with the tech specialist and running diagnostics on the set top box, it showed that one of the signal levals failed. so it is now narrowed down to the router, coax, box, or the signals. Technician visiting tomorrow to narrow it down.

yourusernameisa
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-13-2017

Re: Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 6 of 19
(6,390 Views)

FIXED!!!!!

 

Verizon technician replaced the main white box with a new version. The signal problem is fixed.

 

The problem had nothing to do with the update of FIOS Mobile, the IPad 2, or IOS 9.

 

 

 

View solution in original post

wb4
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-24-2017

Re: Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 7 of 19
(6,263 Views)

that actually bums me out! I am having the same issues you reported with my iPad and have for about a month or so now.  Curious how we are on the same timeline and its not an app issue!  With so much on my DVR I hate the idea of getting it replaced.  doh!!!

TomD86
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-16-2017

Re: Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 8 of 19
(6,248 Views)

Agreed wb4...we didn't all start having signal problems at the same time...there has to be something with this combination that is causing it to not work all of a sudden.  The things we have in common are Verizon network / wireless hardware, their Mobile app and our Ipads / IOS...we're all on the same IOS (9.3.5) and that hasn't changed so what's left is that there has to be something with Verizon that changed.

 

I wouldn't mind as much if they supplied a Windows app for DVR/TV, but don't know when and if that is coming.

sballan
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-27-2017

Re: Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 9 of 19
(5,974 Views)

Fios mobile version stopped working on my iPad and iPhone as well. Used to work great. Times out of everything after about 30 sec to one minute. Very frustrating. Is there a fix for this?

TomD86
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-16-2017

Re: Fios mobile version 5.9 not working on Ipad with IOS 9.3.5

Message 10 of 19
(5,774 Views)

I've been going back and forth with a tech through ticketing process within the app...still no resolution (they released 5.10 and still have the same problem).  Interestingly, on one of their responses after they lay out ALL the things to try that didn't help, there was 1 small sentence at the end that spoke volumes to me..."Please note there is a known bug/issue we are investigating that may cause the app to freeze via Wi-Fi".  Seems like they know there is a problem, just don't know how urgent it is for them.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title