Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Fios remote turning up Vizio Soundbar with any button

SOLVED
Reply
DirkDaring
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-04-2021

Re: Fios remote turning up Vizio Soundbar with any button

Message 21 of 26
(855 Views)

How did you check/update firmware?   Did you attempt the workaround I detailed?

ssk299
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-09-2020

Re: Fios remote turning up Vizio Soundbar with any button

Message 22 of 26
(838 Views)

I have tried so many of the workarounds...Not worth keeping the soundbar if it isn’t going to function without me having to trick it.  I downloaded the updated firmware from the vizio support site on a USB drive.  I then plugged the USB drive into the soundbar.  The firmware updated but that was not the issue.  

ssk299
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-09-2020

Re: Fios remote turning up Vizio Soundbar with any button

Message 23 of 26
(833 Views)

Now that I have learned more about how the soundbar functions I doubt it was actually working before.  We weren’t using the tv much and the problem will begin only once you adjust the volume for the first time after tv is turned on.  So if I never adjusted the volume the issue wouldn’t happen.  Found this one out while troubleshooting more and more.

Timmy1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-28-2019

Re: Fios remote turning up Vizio Soundbar with any button

Message 24 of 26
(740 Views)

I think it has to be a Verizon issue.  I am having the same exact problem with my Bose soundbar.  I found this thread while looking for Bose tips.  Since multiple brands are having the same exact issue, it has to be a Verizon problem.  

 

My current solution, use HDMI and have the TV control the volume and I have a post it note covering my IR sensor on the soundbar

DirkDaring
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-04-2021

Re: Sound Bar volume decreases with any press on cable remote

Message 25 of 26
(2,375 Views)

Update:  Vizio has come out with a firmware update for M21d-H8 soundbar (1.2.0.5) that has seemingly fixed the MUTE CEC issue that I found.  My workaround configuration seems to work fully now for me with the Fios remote.  Thanks Vizio!

View solution in original post

knickknack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-21-2021

Re: Sound Bar volume decreases with any press on cable remote

Message 26 of 26
(184 Views)

How did you get firmware version 1.2.0.5? Their website has 1.10.0.1 as the current firmware version.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title