×

Switch Account

Fios remote will not turn off TV, but turns off box

Fios remote will not turn off TV, but turns off box

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor inspector710
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-27-2019
Message 1 of 10
(1,533 Views)

a one and a half hour phone call to Verizonn and a 1 hour chat have not helped.  It started all of a sudden.  The TV, when I  hit the power button, the set  goes to a screen that is more like a screen saver-it has the Fios logo, date and time with the message-press any key  to watch Fios TV.  If I hit it again,  the set  turns on again.  I have to use the remote that came with the set to turn off the set.  Verizon had me program it a number of times, sent a new STB and a number of reboots. The 4 other TVs in the house are fine.  It started about 2 weeks ago and had been working great, although it started off you had to hit the power button twice to turn off the set. If I hit it twice now, the set turns back on and I have to use the Sharp remote (the one that came with the set) to turn it off.    Can anyone help?  Thanks.

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,769
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 2 of 10
(1,510 Views)

What model remote are you using?

 


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor inspector710
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-27-2019
Message 3 of 10
(1,456 Views)

TV One.  I paired the one from the kitchen and it does the same thing.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
Message 4 of 10
(1,415 Views)

Have you tried to manually set up the remote for your TV in the Fios Voice Remote menu?

Copper Contributor inspector710
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-27-2019
Message 5 of 10
(1,395 Views)

Yes. Several times.  I had the people from Verizon on the phone when I did it.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
Message 6 of 10
(1,362 Views)

Do you have CEC enabled in the TV menu?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor inspector710
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-27-2019
Message 7 of 10
(1,341 Views)

Where would I find it?  

Highlighted
Copper Contributor inspector710
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-27-2019
Message 8 of 10
(1,333 Views)

Found it.  It is off.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor V Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
Message 9 of 10
(1,348 Views)

Try turning CEC on, that might do it.

Highlighted
Contributor bette1
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-29-2020
Message 10 of 10
(393 Views)

what is CEC

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.