×

Switch Account

Firewire port on Motorola QIP-7216

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-30-2009

Firewire port on Motorola QIP-7216

Message 1 of 5
(7,377 Views)
I'd like to be able to record from my DVR to my PC, and I'd like to know if the firewire port is enabled on the Motorola QIP-7216. Thanks.
4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008

Re: Firewire port on Motorola QIP-7216

Message 2 of 5
(7,357 Views)

@crazy98 wrote:
I'd like to be able to record from my DVR to my PC, and I'd like to know if the firewire port is enabled on the Motorola QIP-7216. Thanks.

The Firewire port is enabled.  Provided you know how to use it, you can use it to record from the local SD/HD channels.

 

You cannot use Firewire to record cable channels (TNT, USA, ESPN, etc) with a PC, because Firewire output on those channels is encrypted.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-30-2009

Re: Firewire port on Motorola QIP-7216

Message 3 of 5
(7,360 Views)
I know how to use it, but I can't get my PC to recoginze the device. No unknown hardware, nothing. Could it be that my cable is bad? I bought a cheap one off ebay.
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008

Re: Firewire port on Motorola QIP-7216

Message 4 of 5
(7,336 Views)
What drivers did you install?  Windows does not have the built-in drivers necessary to recognize the device.
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-30-2009

Re: Firewire port on Motorola QIP-7216

Message 5 of 5
(7,321 Views)
The stb firewire drivers. The updated ones, as well as the original ones from Tim Moore. I also tried using an updated firestb.inf with enteries for the 7216 I found by searching. I'm on a dual boot system, vista and xp, trying under xp.
Message Edited by crazy98 on 07-31-2009 01:54 AM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.