×

Switch Account

Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-19-2019

Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 1 of 83
(39,774 Views)

Just got my Fios 1 yesterday.  I installed it and it works fine except for the remote,it will not operate the volume or turn the TV on or off.  I tried the vaiable or fixed section on the Audio but it does not work.  I have to use the TV remote.  Any help?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,861
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 2 of 83
(39,892 Views)

Go to Menu > Settings > Voice Control > Fios TV Voice Remote > Program Voice Remote > Manual Setup > Press ‘OK’ to select.

Select the TV brand and model and follow the steps.

View solution in original post

82 REPLIES 82
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,861
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 2 of 83
(39,893 Views)

Go to Menu > Settings > Voice Control > Fios TV Voice Remote > Program Voice Remote > Manual Setup > Press ‘OK’ to select.

Select the TV brand and model and follow the steps.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-17-2019

Re: Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 3 of 83
(38,743 Views)

Tried many times on LG SMART 4K and DOES NOT WORK! Looks like lots of Verizon customers are having same problem.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-28-2020

Re: Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 4 of 83
(32,669 Views)

my remote does work with volume on my Sony 65" XBR65X950G LED TV

tried all Verizon Fios One options - sect tv brand, changing cods, select model number - called Verizon - they sent out a new remote - same issue - they sent out a new Fios One Box - Same Problem - anybody else?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-04-2020

Re: Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 5 of 83
(31,911 Views)

Mine was working fine for months . Now it stop working on my Sony TV. I paired a new remote and it still doesn't work. This after I did a Sony software update. Need help

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2020

Re: Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 6 of 83
(31,849 Views)

same here... was working for months until two days ago... i can change channels and go to guide etc, but no volume... odd...

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 995
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 7 of 83
(31,759 Views)

Could have something to do with recent firmware updates to either the TVs, or the Fios boxes. I'd wipe out the remote from the Fios box and start the process over again to see if it works. Powercycle the box before doing the fresh programming.  Also check to see if CEC is enabled, and try it disabled, or enabled what ever the opposite of what you have is.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2020

Re: Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 8 of 83
(31,589 Views)

tried your suggestion, still not working... strange...

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 995
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 9 of 83
(31,576 Views)

Real longshot here, but try pulling the batteries out of the remote for 3 minutes, put them back in and see what happens. Also make sure you have line of sight to the tv.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2020

Re: Fois 1 remote does not work volume or turn on/off the TV

Message 10 of 83
(31,182 Views)

Mine was working fine but then the TV prompted me to re-sync. Ever since, the volume won’t work. I now have a new volume bar that doesn’t change the volume. They tried rebooting 3 times, resetting the remote, manual and auto set ups and still doesn’t work. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.