×

Switch Account

Fox HD "Currently unavailable" - The American Idol blues

Fox HD "Currently unavailable" - The American Idol blues

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor JaneS
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 1 of 12
(14,242 Views)

Hello,

 

I've had this problem for a long while now. I've tried contacting verizon's CS multiple times and only ended up getting 'support tickets' with no response or fixes. 

 

I have 2 HD DVRs in my home, Motorola QIP6416-1 and -2. They both run 1.60 firmware and I live in southern California. 

 

My problem seems to be only on this one channel at specific times. Our Fox HD channel is almost always 'currently unavailable' but sometimes it will work in the early mornings, almost never at night however. This is a big problem considering it's exactly when American Idol is on. I've had this problem for months. Whenever Fox HD is out, it's out on both of our TVs. So we usually have to end up just watching the standard def. Fox channel. It's a very annoying problem for one of our most watched shows. 

 

Power cycling does absolutely nothing at all. (Trust me, I've tried everything possible on my end) I've read other posts here about channels being unavailable, but for me it's always just this one channel.

 

Help?

 

Thanks.

11 REPLIES 11
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 2 of 12
(14,223 Views)
Have you called Verizon to send a tech out to check you RF signal at the set top boxes? There is nothing you can do to fix it.
Copper Contributor JaneS
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 3 of 12
(14,214 Views)
I haven't, CS never even mentioned sending someone out. I'll call them in the morning and ask about sending someone out, thanks.
Copper Contributor JaneS
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 4 of 12
(14,151 Views)
I just got off the phone again. The service rep refused to send anyone out, saying it was a problem with our signal and sending someone out wouldn't fix the problem. All I got was another support ticket and a power cycle routine... this is really getting cumbersome. They're basically telling me there is nothing I nor they can do to fix it
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 5 of 12
(14,135 Views)
What does customer service think that you are going to fix the signal to their box? Call back and demand a supervisor and tell the supervisor you demand dispatch for you STB signal problem. Be assertive.
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 6 of 12
(14,112 Views)
Yeh, this is def a signaling issue, try reseating coax at the stb and splitters.  Sometimes this will clear up the issue without a tech coming out! If it continues, you need a tech to check/repair signaling issue.
Message Edited by CharlesH on 01-16-2009 11:14 AM
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎11-01-2008
Message 7 of 12
(14,103 Views)

JaneS, please check your PMs.

 

TS

TheSanchez
Verizon Telecom
Verizon Content Management Center




Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

Copper Contributor JaneS
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 8 of 12
(14,054 Views)

@CharlesH wrote:
Yeh, this is def a signaling issue, try reseating coax at the stb and splitters.  Sometimes this will clear up the issue without a tech coming out! If it continues, you need a tech to check/repair signaling issue.
Message Edited by CharlesH on 01-16-2009 11:14 AM

What do you mean by reseating?
And I've replied TS.
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 9 of 12
(14,041 Views)
Simply unscrew the coax wire from the cable box, wait like 5 seconds and screw it back in finger-tight. Try doing this at the cable box and any visible splitters.
Copper Contributor JaneS
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 10 of 12
(14,006 Views)

@CharlesH wrote:
Simply unscrew the coax wire from the cable box, wait like 5 seconds and screw it back in finger-tight. Try doing this at the cable box and any visible splitters.

Huzzah! That seemed to fix the problem for the most part, but the channel still gets pixelated and the audio will cut out for a split second every 30-60 seconds. I've tried doing this before, but I only unscrewed the coax from the box, I didn't try the splitter by the router/modem.I don't know how long it will last, hoping for the best though! If it cuts out again I guess I'll just have to unscrew everything right before Idol starts, haha

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.