Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

HD TV picture flickers / skips

SOLVED
Reply
jcl6543
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-05-2011

HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 1 of 12
(158,116 Views)

I notice that my HD channels will flicker or skip while watching TV.  Programs will become unbearable to watch and eventually I have to watch on regular TV if I don't want to watch an image that's comprimised. 

 

This usually only happens during prime-time programming during the week and when watching major sporting events on the weekends; baseball, basketball, NASCAR, hockey, etc.  Seems to only happen when good programming is on.

 

Is there any way I can fix this myself without trying to contact Verizon for a service call?  I cannot continue to watch TV the way it is now and would appreciate any advice or information on how to resolve myself.

 

Thank you in advance for any suggestions / advice.

 

Jeff

 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 4 of 12
(158,023 Views)

select 720p in the set top menu?

 

menu>settings>video settings>video format?

 

 

also turn off "CineMotion" and "Motion Flow" in your bravia

 

 

Also another forum user noticed sony has a firmware update on the Sony site for the Bravia 40V5100. In the description it states that it fixes various HDMI issues. Maybe try the update?    

 

see if it's for your tv too 

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
spacedebris
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 2 of 12
(158,068 Views)

Does the picture actually stop and then resume? or  "missing" moments?  Or is it like watching an old projector type movie?

 

 

If it is like watching an old reel to reel projector movie, it may be a refresh rate issue. Check your TV and if it has selectable refresh rate, see if you can set it to something greater than 70mhz. Most modern HD TV's can now do 120 or 240mhz.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
jcl6543
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-05-2011

Re: HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 3 of 12
(158,027 Views)

Missing moments like you mentioned is the best way to describe it.  The picture skips and it's just not normal. 

 

I checked my TV for the selectable refresh rate and didn't see a setting for that.  I have a Sony Bravia, about 15 months old.

 

Besides that selectable refresh rate is there anything else that I could try to resolve?

 

If not I'll have to call Verizon because it's not right. 

 

Thanks for the help.

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 4 of 12
(158,024 Views)

select 720p in the set top menu?

 

menu>settings>video settings>video format?

 

 

also turn off "CineMotion" and "Motion Flow" in your bravia

 

 

Also another forum user noticed sony has a firmware update on the Sony site for the Bravia 40V5100. In the description it states that it fixes various HDMI issues. Maybe try the update?    

 

see if it's for your tv too 

View solution in original post

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 5 of 12
(158,018 Views)

update, the other guy with the sony bravia problem said the firmware did not make a difference, but the 720p setting did.  

 

FWIW

 

I like 720p better anyway, I think you will too.   

 

 

 

Progressive scanning reduces the need to prevent flicker by anti-aliasing single high contrast horizontal lines.[4][5] It is also easier to perform high-quality 50/60 Hz conversion and slow-motion replays with progressive video. In high-motion scenes, 720p has higher vertical resolution than 1080i (720 lines versus 540 lines), making it preferable for sporting eventssuch as auto racing and basketball that move at a very fast pace on live television.

jcl6543
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-05-2011

Re: HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 6 of 12
(158,004 Views)

Thank you Hubrisnxs.

 

My box was set at 1080i so I just changed it to 720p.

 

I also shut off the CineMotion and the MotionFlow on my Bravia.

 

I'll have a look and see if this does the trick.  Be back in a day or two.

 

Thanks again for the info.

 

Jeff

dualityim
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-03-2011

Re: HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 7 of 12
(157,949 Views)

Hey Jeff,

 

I'm the other guy with the problem who posted on the dslreports forums. It seems my problem was caused by using full pixel mode. I tried using 1080i output while using "full" mode and the problem went away. I'm not sure if the problem you are experiencing is the same as mine. Were you also using full pixel mode by any chance?

jcl6543
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-05-2011

Re: HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 8 of 12
(157,940 Views)

^  Yes, I always use Full Pixel mode.

 

I haven't had a chance to really watch a lot of TV between last night and today to see if the things I did in my post above worked.  I'll check back and let you know.

 

Thanks guys.

jcl6543
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-05-2011

Re: HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 9 of 12
(157,836 Views)

Thank you very much you guys.  Not sure which of these above was the actual issue but the problem has went away.

 

I appreciate the help.

defa
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-19-2011

Re: HD TV picture flickers / skips

Message 10 of 12
(157,188 Views)

I have the same exact issues, just signed on about 2 weeks ago and had nothing but trouble.  My Bravia  is 4 years old and found out through the Fios management team the Fios DVR box is not compatable with this brand.   I'm going back to Direct since the pic is great and they offered new customer pricing.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.