×

Switch Account

HDD/DVD PLAYER (type of DVR) HOOK UP

HDD/DVD PLAYER (type of DVR) HOOK UP

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-22-2013
Message 1 of 7
(991 Views)

I want to know if I have this right befor going ahead with hooking it up....... I am going to hook up my Magnavox HDD/DVD player to my STB & TV like this.

Coax from router to STB to DVR, then have a HDMI from STB to TV & from DVR to TV ? TV has 3 HDMI ports

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 2 of 7
(965 Views)

@MrEdd00 wrote:

I want to know if I have this right befor going ahead with hooking it up....... I am going to hook up my Magnavox HDD/DVD player to my STB & TV like this.

Coax from router to STB to DVR, then have a HDMI from STB to TV & from DVR to TV ? TV has 3 HDMI ports


Almost.  Coax from ONT to STB.  You do not make any connections from router to STB.  If your router are in the same location and you only have one coax, use a splitter, and run one output to the router and one to the STB.

 

Coax to a separate DVR will not work.  As I understand it, you can't record FiOS signals that way. And I never got it to work. 

 

 

 

 

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-22-2013
Message 3 of 7
(957 Views)

So I cant hook my HDD/DVD up and use it to record fav. shoes (MY ONLY 2 YR OLD HDD/DVD PLAYER) I can only use it to watch dvd's. If I want to record shoes I have to have a VERIZON FIOES DVR ????????

Highlighted
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 4 of 7
(952 Views)

@MrEdd00 wrote:

So I cant hook my HDD/DVD up and use it to record fav. shoes (MY ONLY 2 YR OLD HDD/DVD PLAYER) I can only use it to watch dvd's. If I want to record shoes I have to have a VERIZON FIOES DVR ????????


Recording FiOS on your own DVR is not as straightforward as recording cable.  The following link addresses this issue.  

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Technical-Assistance/use-my-own-DVR/m-p/274111#M24312

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 5 of 7
(940 Views)

@MrEdd00 wrote:

So I cant hook my HDD/DVD up and use it to record fav. shoes (MY ONLY 2 YR OLD HDD/DVD PLAYER) I can only use it to watch dvd's. If I want to record shoes I have to have a VERIZON FIOES DVR ????????


I'm going to answer this is a different way than Walt178 did.  You can record the output of the FiOS Set Top Box (DVR or non-DVR) on another DVR but only in standard definition.  You can connect the composite video and stereo audio outputs (or the RF coax output) of the FiOS STB (DVR) and to the inputs of your non-FiOS DVR and record whatever is coming out of the FiOS DVR.  Again, the recordings will only be in SD and stereo at best -- no HD or Dolby sound.

The thread Wal178 mentions discussed an actual DVR that has a cable card capability (such as TiVo).  Such units can be used instead of the FiOS STB.  None of the Motorola DVRs I found online uses a cable card.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 6 of 7
(932 Views)

@PJL wrote:
You can connect the composite video and stereo audio outputs (or the RF coax output) of the FiOS STB (DVR) and to the inputs of your non-FiOS DVR and record whatever is coming out of the FiOS DVR. 

 


Does that work for a non-DVR STB?  I've seen directions for recording on the Verizon DVR and recording the playback on another DVR,  but recording the live show seems to be different.   I have tried to record from a QIP7100-2 to a DVR without success.   Tried all available outputs from the STB and it didn't work. 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 7 of 7
(925 Views)

Yes, it should work on a non-DVR also.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.