Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

HDMI Problems

Reply
JulianSam
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-07-2013

HDMI Problems

Message 1 of 10
(2,196 Views)

Im new to Verizon, and so far not so good. Motorola box has sound going out when coming out of commercials. Now Verizon sends me component cables that I had to run through my wall to make it look neat, and honestly the picture is not as good. Why is the solution lesser service and me having to manage it? Why is there a set top box that doesn't work with HDMI? This is 2013 no?

9 REPLIES 9
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,961
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: HDMI Problems

Message 2 of 10
(2,186 Views)

Far as I know, all HD STBs and DVRs work with HDMI.

What model box do you have?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
JulianSam
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-07-2013

Re: HDMI Problems

Message 3 of 10
(2,157 Views)

Motorola QIP72322

jackmcgann
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 343
Registered: ‎11-09-2010

Re: HDMI Problems

Message 4 of 10
(2,151 Views)

7232 definitely supports HDMI

FIOS-Dan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-24-2010

Re: HDMI Problems

Message 5 of 10
(2,149 Views)

If Verizon told me my only alternative to solving your problem is to use component cables (instead of the HDMI cable), I'd tell them to take their component cable and stick it where the sun don't shine!!  LOL!  Are you kidding me?  Use component cables??  This is the wildest solution I've heard from Verizon yet!  To tell you the truth, I'd live with a little dropout of audio on commercials than to sacrifice the quality of my video.  No way Jose'!  HDMI works fine, for the most part, on my Motorola 7232 STB DVR, except for one anomoly.  I've noticed that during the transition of a high def program (any hd channel) to a standard def local programming commercial, I lose sync on my tv.  My screen goes black for a little (a second), then the commercial is displayed.  The same thing happens when the commercial is over and the high def programming resumes...tv loses sync for a second.  I was going to talk to Verizon about this, but I don't have a whole hour to spare on the phone.  I would not, however, opt for component cables to resolve this anomoly.  Component cables??   Really??

JulianSam
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-07-2013

Re: HDMI Problems

Message 6 of 10
(2,117 Views)

It does support HDMI, as in it has a port where the HDMI insert into the box, but it does not support it in the sense that it provides quality sound throughout my viewing while using the HDMI output

armond_in_nj
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: HDMI Problems

Message 7 of 10
(2,112 Views)

@JulianSam wrote:

... Motorola box [QIP 7232] has sound going out when coming out of commercials. Now Verizon sends me component cables ... and the picture is not as good ... Why is there a set top box that doesn't work with HDMI? ...


You haven't indicated the specific TV in use; that's often related to this issue.  HDMI issues are well known with various STBs/TV combinations, and Verizon devices are no exception.  I recommend you do a general search for similar problems and related solutions.  Some solutions involve changing your wiring layout.  For TV, I do indeed use component cables for TV video and RCA cables for Dolby 5.1 TV audio.  Not to disagree with other posts in this thread, but in general there is no loss in quality or fidelity using component cables instead of HDMI.  This is well documented in both DSLReports and AVS Forums. The same cannot be said for the old style composite cables, which only pass SD.  These cables should be avoided for HD applications.

 

Getting back to your issue, some solutions involve setting STB parameters for various audio formats, etc.  This gets a little complicated but has resulted in solutions.  There is no simple answer based on information you've so far provided, but I'd suggest searching the areas above and concentrating on your particular display device.

ginarizzzz
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-12-2013

Re: HDMI Problems

Message 8 of 10
(1,969 Views)

Hi,

I'm new to Verizon.  Acquired it in December 2012.  I am also not able to use my HDMI cables and was told via the tech that I needed to use the component cables.  I have a 42 in Panasonic Plasma TV.  I was told that their was an issue with Panasonic TV's and FIOS.   I am very upset.  The picture quality is dimished.  Screen is darker.  HDMI cable works fine through my blue ray so I know it's not that.  If I leave it on HDMI, my picture / sound periodically black out, which is a total nusance.  I switched boxes last week and same issue.  A friend told me they had the same issue with Motorolla box and they switched them to a Cisco.  Going to call and try this one AFTER I go to the UPS store and return my 2nd box.  VERY frustrated!!  Good luck!

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: HDMI Problems

Message 9 of 10
(1,963 Views)
 
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: HDMI Problems

Message 10 of 10
(1,959 Views)

@FIOS-Dan wrote:

If Verizon told me my only alternative to solving your problem is to use component cables (instead of the HDMI cable), I'd tell them to take their component cable and stick it where the sun don't shine!!  LOL!  Are you kidding me?  Use component cables??  This is the wildest solution I've heard from Verizon yet!  To tell you the truth, I'd live with a little dropout of audio on commercials than to sacrifice the quality of my video.  No way Jose'!  HDMI works fine, for the most part, on my Motorola 7232 STB DVR, except for one anomoly.  I've noticed that during the transition of a high def program (any hd channel) to a standard def local programming commercial, I lose sync on my tv.  My screen goes black for a little (a second), then the commercial is displayed.  The same thing happens when the commercial is over and the high def programming resumes...tv loses sync for a second.  I was going to talk to Verizon about this, but I don't have a whole hour to spare on the phone.  I would not, however, opt for component cables to resolve this anomoly.  Component cables??   Really??


for this one try this.  it's a known fix for that. 

 

menu>settings>sd override> turn it off (preference)   480i (backup)

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.