×

Switch Account

Home theater does not work after Fios installation in my TV.

Home theater does not work after Fios installation in my TV.

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-28-2009

Home theater does not work after Fios installation in my TV.

Message 1 of 7
(6,745 Views)

Hi,

I recently installed Fios in my Samsung HDTV. I have a panasonic home theater system attached to my TV. I used to use the sound system of the home theater to listen TV programms. But after Fios installation I could not get my home theater system work. I called Fios customer care but they say Fios has nothing to do with the home theater system and they could not help. I see one posting with similar problem used RF modulator to solve hi sproblem. I still beleive that something very small I may have missing to get it connected with Fios TV. Can you please help? Do I need to to connect my DVD player with Verizon supplied box for HDTV set up? The other question is about HD channels. I have no problem with local channels, its crispy and clear but the HD broadcasts are giving me convergence trouble so I can not enjoy them. Can you please help me out? Thanks..

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

Re: Home theater does not work after Fios installation in my TV.

Message 2 of 7
(6,699 Views)

Your Home theater would need to be hooked to your TV and/or to the FiOS STB.... If you need further help than that, you should probably contact the manufacturer of the home theater for support on how to properly hook their equipment up.

 

Your DVD player has nothing to do with HD from Fios

 

I do not understand what you mean by convergance.... A more detailed description of your HD issue may help to determine what the cause is

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bob Robertson - Lighter Klepto - I steal lighters, not bandwith
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Home theater does not work after Fios installation in my TV.

Message 3 of 7
(6,665 Views)

Howdy neighbor. I too live in Germantown, MD

Ditto on what Bob said, all Verizon would be responsible for is the STB. I currently have my DVD connected to my Samsung on a seperate HDMI cable to the TV. The TV switches between the FIOS box and the DVR, and FIOS has nothing to do with it.

 

Audio to the home theater system can be connected from your TV to the system, or through a cable from the Fios STB to your system. It would all depend on what your theater system supports, and how you wish to connect it. Again Verizon has nothing to do with it, but the tech may have been able to give advice durring install, but Verizon can not be responsible for other manufactures hardware.

 

Convergence? If you have a rear projection TV or a system with mutiple color guns providing the image, it may not have shown issues with convergence on non high definition programming. This would be a TV issue and require TV tech support, and not FIOS support.

 

I hope you get it all worked out and are able to fully enjoy the HD.

 

 

Message Edited by prisaz on 05-29-2009 09:21 AM
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎01-30-2009

Re: Home theater does not work after Fios installation in my TV.

Message 4 of 7
(6,565 Views)

I had a similar issue with my Samsung tv.  I'm presuming that your Samsung has "audio out" connectors, and you are using those to connect  to your HTS.

 

as these guys have mentioned, I then connected the STB directly to the HTS.  The lone setback is that when I turn the STB on, I hear the volume before the tv is turned on, thus, you can't simple turn the tv off and leave the STB on.

You've got to be very careful if you don't know where you're going, because you might not get there. --Yogi Berra
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Home theater does not work after Fios installation in my TV.

Message 5 of 7
(6,534 Views)

@jmcohen23 wrote:

I had a similar issue with my Samsung tv.  I'm presuming that your Samsung has "audio out" connectors, and you are using those to connect  to your HTS.

 

as these guys have mentioned, I then connected the STB directly to the HTS.  The lone setback is that when I turn the STB on, I hear the volume before the tv is turned on, thus, you can't simple turn the tv off and leave the STB on.


Actually I have HDMI to my Samsung and Fiber from my Samsung to the HTS. Also RCA stereo from the STB to the HTS for when I am only running the STB without the TV. I must of course switch the input mode on the HTS when I am not running the TV.

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎01-30-2009

Re: Home theater does not work after Fios installation in my TV.

Message 6 of 7
(6,505 Views)

@prisaz wrote:

@jmcohen23 wrote:

I had a similar issue with my Samsung tv.  I'm presuming that your Samsung has "audio out" connectors, and you are using those to connect  to your HTS.

 

as these guys have mentioned, I then connected the STB directly to the HTS.  The lone setback is that when I turn the STB on, I hear the volume before the tv is turned on, thus, you can't simple turn the tv off and leave the STB on.


Actually I have HDMI to my Samsung and Fiber from my Samsung to the HTS. Also RCA stereo from the STB to the HTS for when I am only running the STB without the TV. I must of course switch the input mode on the HTS when I am not running the TV.


 

I think the issue is with the Fiber from your Samsung to the HTS.  Whatever input mode you have on the HTS for receiving the STB audio, keep it on that mode while the TV is on, that should work.

 

otherwise, I have read of other people complaining of similiar issues with Samsung products and FIOS.

You've got to be very careful if you don't know where you're going, because you might not get there. --Yogi Berra
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Home theater does not work after Fios installation in my TV.

Message 7 of 7
(6,460 Views)

@jmcohen23 wrote:

@prisaz wrote:

@jmcohen23 wrote:

I had a similar issue with my Samsung tv.  I'm presuming that your Samsung has "audio out" connectors, and you are using those to connect  to your HTS.

 

as these guys have mentioned, I then connected the STB directly to the HTS.  The lone setback is that when I turn the STB on, I hear the volume before the tv is turned on, thus, you can't simple turn the tv off and leave the STB on.


Actually I have HDMI to my Samsung and Fiber from my Samsung to the HTS. Also RCA stereo from the STB to the HTS for when I am only running the STB without the TV. I must of course switch the input mode on the HTS when I am not running the TV.


 

I think the issue is with the Fiber from your Samsung to the HTS.  Whatever input mode you have on the HTS for receiving the STB audio, keep it on that mode while the TV is on, that should work.

 

otherwise, I have read of other people complaining of similiar issues with Samsung products and FIOS.


I have no issues. The OP was Farsh. All my stuff works great.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.