Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Reply
andchang74
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Message 1 of 8
(1,398 Views)

As subject, is my STB broken can I get a new one?

7 REPLIES 7
Comet2011L4
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-15-2013

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Message 2 of 8
(1,383 Views)

Hello andchang74,

 

Make sure all wires are securely attached to the set top box. Perhaps your coax cable is loose or damaged. Try replacing it with a known good coax cable.

 

Are there any other noticeable symptons? (i.e. ghosting, pixel images, image lags)

 

Can you try replacing the set top box with a known good set top box?
 (That's if you have two)

 

I think Verizon might be able to send you a working one without charge if you return the damaged one back.

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Message 3 of 8
(1,375 Views)

@andchang74 wrote:

As subject, is my STB broken can I get a new one?


It's difficult to answer your question without some basic information like what symptoms are happening, are you restaring the STB or is it restarting itself, etc. 

TheMrsandMe
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-03-2013

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Message 4 of 8
(1,319 Views)

Add me to that list of constant resetting of STB

Spoiler
 
tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Message 5 of 8
(1,276 Views)

At least five different problems that can cause this.

 

Bad wiring,

 

Bad power.

 

Bad router.

 

Bad ONT

 

Bad STB.

 

You CAN probably only work to fix the first two on your own.

acharp
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2013

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Message 6 of 8
(1,224 Views)

mine does this several TIMES a DAY! Unfortunately during recording at times. grrrr!

 No loose wires.

stilholm
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-18-2010

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Message 7 of 8
(1,184 Views)
I have a similar problem. If I leave my dvr on one channel for too long, I eventually get a black screen. I can get the picture back by simply changing channels. The more frustrating problem is that I can't watch any recorded programs. The dvr says the program is playing, but it stays on the current channel. During this error, the stb won't record any programs. The only way to fix it is to reset the stb. Once reset it works fine for a while, but the problem eventually comes back. Any one have a permanent fix other than having the dvr replaced?
PapaDave
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-10-2013

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Message 8 of 8
(1,143 Views)
My DVR froze up and Verizon sent another box. This new DVR is resetting automatically every couple of minutes. It started out resetting a few times a day, but now just repeatedly resets. Another new box on its way. Any possibility it's not the box?
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.