Customers With Disabilities
 

Welcome to the Verizon Fios Community.

Find help and answers to questions about anything and everything Verizon.

How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

As subject, is my STB broken can I get a new one?

7 REPLIES
Copper Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-15-2013

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

[ Edited ]

Hello andchang74,

 

Make sure all wires are securely attached to the set top box. Perhaps your coax cable is loose or damaged. Try replacing it with a known good coax cable.

 

Are there any other noticeable symptons? (i.e. ghosting, pixel images, image lags)

 

Can you try replacing the set top box with a known good set top box?
 (That's if you have two)

 

I think Verizon might be able to send you a working one without charge if you return the damaged one back.

Silver Contributor III
Posts: 2,070
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Location: Long Beach, California

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?


andchang74 wrote:

As subject, is my STB broken can I get a new one?


It's difficult to answer your question without some basic information like what symptoms are happening, are you restaring the STB or is it restarting itself, etc. 

Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-03-2013

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

Add me to that list of constant resetting of STB

Spoiler
 
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 3,426
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

At least five different problems that can cause this.

 

Bad wiring,

 

Bad power.

 

Bad router.

 

Bad ONT

 

Bad STB.

 

You CAN probably only work to fix the first two on your own.

Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2013

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

mine does this several TIMES a DAY! Unfortunately during recording at times. grrrr!

 No loose wires.

Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-18-2010

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

I have a similar problem. If I leave my dvr on one channel for too long, I eventually get a black screen. I can get the picture back by simply changing channels. The more frustrating problem is that I can't watch any recorded programs. The dvr says the program is playing, but it stays on the current channel. During this error, the stb won't record any programs. The only way to fix it is to reset the stb. Once reset it works fine for a while, but the problem eventually comes back. Any one have a permanent fix other than having the dvr replaced?
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-10-2013

Re: How come need to restart or reset STB to watch TV in almost every two days?

My DVR froze up and Verizon sent another box. This new DVR is resetting automatically every couple of minutes. It started out resetting a few times a day, but now just repeatedly resets. Another new box on its way. Any possibility it's not the box?
 

My Verizon

  • Check Email
  • Add or Change Services
  • Suspend My Service
  • Manage Services

Support

Watch Fios