Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-24-2016

How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 1 of 20
(38,320 Views)
Can't figure it out on settings. Any help?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-28-2017

Re: How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 9 of 20
(34,367 Views)

Try Settings - System - Media Server Settings - Auto Power Off - None. This just worked for me

View solution in original post

19 REPLIES 19
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 2 of 20
(38,265 Views)

You really cannot.  Its a builtin screen saver and reminder to save power and "wear and tear" by turning your TV screen off.  Note you can also look at the remote instructions on how to have the power off key on the Verizon remote also turn off your TV.

Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎04-24-2014

Re: How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 3 of 20
(38,183 Views)

on our stboxes we CAN turn this off......w your fios remote go to menu/settings/set-top box/screen saver.........

it behaves like this:

with it set to "no screen saver in standby"......

when the power is off on the box (not unplugged, just switched off via remote or frontpanel power button or after 3 or 4 hours of inactivity) and the tv is still on, our tv has a dull blackish glow from screen

with screensaver set to "screen saver in standby" ......

when the power is off on the box (not unplugged, just switched off via remote or frontpanel power button or after 3 or 4 hours of inactivity) and the tv is still on, our tv has that same dull blackish glow from screen plus that

"Press Menu to watch Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

that you want gone........i hope this helps, let me know, k? soon though, cuz i'll soon belong to frontier, heheheh

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-24-2016

Re: How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 4 of 20
(38,176 Views)
**bleep**. Super bummer
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 5 of 20
(38,163 Views)

You really want your TV to be on but DARK.  Eats up lots of power.  And reduces life of TV screen.  For some screen types all black actually is worse for screen life.

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-07-2012

Re: How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 6 of 20
(36,406 Views)

Looks like this setting is gone in the current Fios Quantum STB. What I want is for the HDMI out to shut off along with the box.  That signals my TV that the input is no longer active -- technically required for the part of the spec- (HDMI device control). That the more expensive STB is missing this feature is frustrating. 

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-14-2017

Re: How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 7 of 20
(36,317 Views)

The suggestions offered to turn off having to touch the menu button when turning on the TV do not correspond to what is on my Remote. This system was installed last week. I can go to settings  I go to Menu ....Settings but then there is no option for Set Top Box so how do I get to the STB option..

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-16-2017

Re: How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 8 of 20
(34,963 Views)

Same here - not option for Set Top Box. My Fios  was installed about two months ago, July 2017.

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-28-2017

Re: How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 9 of 20
(34,368 Views)

Try Settings - System - Media Server Settings - Auto Power Off - None. This just worked for me

View solution in original post

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,943
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: How to stop the "Press Menu to wach Fios TV, otherwise turn off your TV"

Message 10 of 20
(34,347 Views)

That will always show channel content.

OP requested a way to make stb output turn off.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.