Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

IPC1100 / VMS1100 Compatible IR Remote

SOLVED
Reply
wnhs
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-22-2014

IPC1100 / VMS1100 Compatible IR Remote

Message 1 of 7
(10,955 Views)

Does anyone know which brand of IR remote is compatible with the IPC1100 or VMS1100?  I have been looking at a bunch of different brands and none of them explicitly say that they are compatible with either one.  Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SinCara
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: IPC1100 / VMS1100 Compatible IR Remote

Message 5 of 7
(10,927 Views)

@wnhs wrote:
Sorry, what I meant to ask is which brand of IR remote receiver is supported. There is an input on the back of both boxes for a cable that will extent the IR eye so that the box can be mounted out of sight. Trying to determine which of these extenders is supported.

Verizon sells an extender that works with the VMS here. https://teleproducts.verizon.com/fios/index.cfm/eh/DisplayProducts?CMP=DMC-CVD_ZZ_ZZ_E_DO_N_X00011

 

You could also always order one from amazon and if it doesnt work just mail it back. Just make sure its in stock and ships from amazon so any return shipping is covered.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
SinCara
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: IPC1100 / VMS1100 Compatible IR Remote

Message 2 of 7
(10,948 Views)

@wnhs wrote:

Does anyone know which brand of IR remote is compatible with the IPC1100 or VMS1100?  I have been looking at a bunch of different brands and none of them explicitly say that they are compatible with either one.  Thanks!


Any Logitech Harmony remote will work although you might have to make the remote learn the commands like I did until Logitech updates their codes if they havent already.

I have my Harmony 650 remote working with the media server. Making the remote learn the commands is a piece of cake. All you do is point the fios remote to the harmony remote and push a few buttons that the logitech software tells you to then its done.

If they updated their codes then all you have to do is enter the model number and it brings it all up. What I like about the harmony remotes are you can program the extra buttons to do whatever you want and it controls all devices.

If you consider a harmony remote look on ebay as they are far cheaper new then they are in stores. I bought mine new for only $40.

wnhs
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-22-2014

Re: IPC1100 / VMS1100 Compatible IR Remote

Message 3 of 7
(10,938 Views)
Sorry, what I meant to ask is which brand of IR remote receiver is supported. There is an input on the back of both boxes for a cable that will extent the IR eye so that the box can be mounted out of sight. Trying to determine which of these extenders is supported.
wnhs
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-22-2014

IPC1100 / VMS1100 compatible IR (infrared) Receiver Extender Cables?

Message 4 of 7
(10,933 Views)

I am mounting my TV on a wall and the FIOS set top box that I am going to use (IPC1100) will be not be in line of sight for the set top box's remote control. I would like to use an IR receiver cable to extend the IPC1100's infrared eye. There is an input on the back of the IPC1100 for this type of cable (see image below):

 

IR receiver cable input

 

 

 

 

www_verizon_com_cs_groups_public_documents_adacct_ipc1100_installation_manual-s_pdf_and_ClickTime_-_Week_View.png

 

 

Does anyone know of an IR receiver that will work with this box? I have searched online and found a few options, but none of them explicitly say that they are compatible with these new FIOS boxes.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks!

 

 

 

 

 

 

SinCara
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: IPC1100 / VMS1100 Compatible IR Remote

Message 5 of 7
(10,928 Views)

@wnhs wrote:
Sorry, what I meant to ask is which brand of IR remote receiver is supported. There is an input on the back of both boxes for a cable that will extent the IR eye so that the box can be mounted out of sight. Trying to determine which of these extenders is supported.

Verizon sells an extender that works with the VMS here. https://teleproducts.verizon.com/fios/index.cfm/eh/DisplayProducts?CMP=DMC-CVD_ZZ_ZZ_E_DO_N_X00011

 

You could also always order one from amazon and if it doesnt work just mail it back. Just make sure its in stock and ships from amazon so any return shipping is covered.

View solution in original post

Mendes9
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎01-05-2012

Re: IPC1100 / VMS1100 Compatible IR Remote

Message 6 of 7
(10,854 Views)

This works.. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002JSDHCY/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 On the one STB I have in my basement I put like a 40 or 50FT extension cable on it and ran it to my kitchen TV, so I could share this STB between basement and kitchen TV and works no problem.

MisterEdF
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-08-2011

Re: IPC1100 / VMS1100 Compatible IR Remote

Message 7 of 7
(10,846 Views)

Or use one of these.  No need to run wires 25 feet..  http://www.amazon.com/Next-Generation-Remote-Control-Extender/dp/B000C1Z0HA/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1...

 

They have been working flawlessly through 2 floors and a wall for years for me.  Basically turns your IR remote into an FR remote.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title