Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Infomercial Madness

Reply
KoffyNutNJ
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Infomercial Madness

Message 1 of 9
(959 Views)

Every morning the TV channel has changed from the last channel watched to another channel running an infomercial, how do I turn this off?  Smiley Mad

 

I have promotions turned off...

8 REPLIES 8
KoffyNutNJ
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: Infomercial Madness

Message 2 of 9
(923 Views)

This must be pretty hush hush with Verizon.... Smiley Surprised

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Infomercial Madness

Message 3 of 9
(918 Views)

@KoffyNutNJ wrote:

This must be pretty hush hush with Verizon.... Smiley Surprised


Why do you say that?

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.5
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

KoffyNutNJ
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: Infomercial Madness

Message 4 of 9
(915 Views)

no comments.....

 

+ when I called they have no idea what I'm talking about.....

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Infomercial Madness

Message 5 of 9
(906 Views)

@KoffyNutNJ wrote:

no comments.....

 

+ when I called they had no idea what I was talking about.....


Well, I have no idea what you are talking about either, and I have had FiOS TV for over 8 years now, old SD STBs, new HD STBs, etc., have never experienced what I think you are describing.

 

But despite what you said about having Promotions disabled, maybe what you are seeing is the FiOS TV Home Screen. If so you might try choosing the option in the lower right corner to disable the screen and see what happens.

 

Sorry, but I don't have any other ideas.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.5
Keller, TX 76248 (VHO 1)

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,978
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Infomercial Madness

Message 6 of 9
(901 Views)

What channel is it tuning to?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
KoffyNutNJ
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: Infomercial Madness

Message 7 of 9
(879 Views)

FiOS TV Home Screen is off, and the channel varries.

 

It was on CBS when being turned off and I'm not sure what channel it was yesterday, but it was a fitness infomercial and this morning it was on Velocity.

 

We've had FIOS ever since it came to South Jersey which has been about 4 or 5 years.

 

This has been going on since mid 2013 and only seems to be the HD DVR,- QIP72322

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Infomercial Madness

Message 8 of 9
(859 Views)

@KoffyNutNJ wrote:

Every morning the TV channel has changed from the last channel watched to another channel running an infomercial, how do I turn this off?  Smiley Mad

 

I have promotions turned off...


Do you have any recordings scheduled overnight?  Turning the STB off when watching a given channel will not always leave the STB on that channel.  A scheduled recording will change the active channel and that's what you see when you turn the STB back on.

KoffyNutNJ
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: Infomercial Madness

Message 9 of 9
(853 Views)

no, nothing schedualed

 

Usually the channels it switches to are ones we never watch, it's really weird...

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title