Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Infrared Receiver Question

Reply
cprgolds
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2008

Infrared Receiver Question

Message 1 of 7
(15,791 Views)

I have a QIP7100 STB for a set that I have mounted on a swing arm so that I can view it from different room locations.

 

No matter where how I orientate the STB, I cannot get enough capture angle for the remote control to receive the infrared signal in all positions.

 

Ideally, I would mount a small infrared receiver on top of the set and connect it to the IR Remote Input on the back of the STB, but the telephone tech support has told me that that input is not active.

 

I would be interested in other's experience with this and alternative solutions.

 

Thanks!

Message Edited by cprgolds on 12-27-2008 02:38 PM
6 REPLIES 6
CharlesH
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: Infrared Receiver Question

Message 2 of 7
(15,769 Views)
I always found aiming the remote higher then the box always hit the sensor and that's what I tell my customers.  An alternative would be an IR eye.
cprgolds
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2008

Re: Infrared Receiver Question

Message 3 of 7
(15,699 Views)

When you say "IR eye" what exactly do you mean?

 

Do you mean a receiver/emitter combination or do you mean a receiver that plugs into the jack on the back of the STB?

 

From what I understand most people who put boxes cabinets go with the receiver/emitter combo.

 

I was looking to mount something like: Link to Xantech page on the set itself but have not real confirmation that the port is live, in fact I have more input that the port is inactive.

 

CharlesH
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: Infrared Receiver Question

Message 4 of 7
(15,665 Views)

When I say an IR EYE, I mean an extention of the IR sensor which plugs into that small IR plug in the back of the cable box.  I have talked to many customers when taking calls that have that setup, working.

cprgolds
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2008

Re: Infrared Receiver Question

Message 5 of 7
(15,650 Views)

Thanks - just wanted to make sure we were talking the same language -- Now I have conflicting info on this.  Was hoping for a firsthand report rather than heresay.  Will probably have to just get the stuff and try it myself to find the true answer.

kbeck
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-26-2009

Re: Infrared Receiver Question

Message 6 of 7
(15,286 Views)

I've read on other threads that this IR functionality is not turned on.

I have an IR extender and it will not work.

 

I want to hide my new fios box, but do not know what type of IR technology I need.

 

Please assist

 

retiredme
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: Infrared Receiver Question

Message 7 of 7
(15,245 Views)
Under the heading of "alternative" solutions, try bouncing the IR signal off a mirror to the STB - angle of incidence sort of thing. It could happen.  Thank you.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title