×

Switch Account

Infrared Receiver Question

Infrared Receiver Question

Reply
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
Message 1 of 7
(15,077 Views)

I have a QIP7100 STB for a set that I have mounted on a swing arm so that I can view it from different room locations.

 

No matter where how I orientate the STB, I cannot get enough capture angle for the remote control to receive the infrared signal in all positions.

 

Ideally, I would mount a small infrared receiver on top of the set and connect it to the IR Remote Input on the back of the STB, but the telephone tech support has told me that that input is not active.

 

I would be interested in other's experience with this and alternative solutions.

 

Thanks!

Message Edited by cprgolds on 12-27-2008 02:38 PM
6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 2 of 7
(15,055 Views)
I always found aiming the remote higher then the box always hit the sensor and that's what I tell my customers.  An alternative would be an IR eye.
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
Message 3 of 7
(14,985 Views)

When you say "IR eye" what exactly do you mean?

 

Do you mean a receiver/emitter combination or do you mean a receiver that plugs into the jack on the back of the STB?

 

From what I understand most people who put boxes cabinets go with the receiver/emitter combo.

 

I was looking to mount something like: Link to Xantech page on the set itself but have not real confirmation that the port is live, in fact I have more input that the port is inactive.

 

Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
Message 4 of 7
(14,951 Views)

When I say an IR EYE, I mean an extention of the IR sensor which plugs into that small IR plug in the back of the cable box.  I have talked to many customers when taking calls that have that setup, working.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
Message 5 of 7
(14,936 Views)

Thanks - just wanted to make sure we were talking the same language -- Now I have conflicting info on this.  Was hoping for a firsthand report rather than heresay.  Will probably have to just get the stuff and try it myself to find the true answer.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-26-2009
Message 6 of 7
(14,572 Views)

I've read on other threads that this IR functionality is not turned on.

I have an IR extender and it will not work.

 

I want to hide my new fios box, but do not know what type of IR technology I need.

 

Please assist

 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 7 of 7
(14,531 Views)
Under the heading of "alternative" solutions, try bouncing the IR signal off a mirror to the STB - angle of incidence sort of thing. It could happen.  Thank you.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.