×

Switch Account

Intermittent sound interruption

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Intermittent sound interruption

Message 1 of 8
(1,762 Views)

When watching TV programming, I sometimes experience a 2-3 second sound interruption. It seems to clear when I change the channel and revert back to the channel I was watching. The same thing happens when watching a program off the DVR.  I can rewind the program and the sound is there but it just interrupts it intermittently when playing back. I have the multi-room DVR setup. Is this a FIOS problem with my equipment? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Gold Contributor II Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 988
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Intermittent sound interruption

Message 6 of 8
(1,552 Views)

Ok , try the total reboot. Unplug the the VMS and IPC from power, plug them back in after a minute or two. While you're at it might as well reboot the the ONT too, just to say everything is fresh. Also reboot router. See if that helps at all. If not gotta check in diagnostic menu on bad channels to see what the SNR is.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Gold Contributor II Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 988
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Intermittent sound interruption

Message 2 of 8
(1,699 Views)

How is the box hooked up? Coax or wifi? If coax, try removing the connection and reconnecting it on both ends of the cable. If wifi, you should try coax. How is the TV hooked up? HDMI or analog? Which boxes are you using? We need more details to help you.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Re: Intermittent sound interruption

Message 3 of 8
(1,643 Views)

How is the box hooked up? Coax or wifi? If coax, try removing the connection and reconnecting it on both ends of the cable. If wifi, you should try coax. How is the TV hooked up? HDMI or analog? Which boxes are you using? We need more details to help you.

 

The boxes are connected to coax and the box(es) to TV connection is HDMI. The main DVR box is model VMS1100 and the client box(es) are IPC11002P. Thanks!

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,893
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Intermittent sound interruption

Message 4 of 8
(1,635 Views)

Does it happen on both the VMS and IPC?

If so, then check coax conections.

Start at ONT and make sure all of the connections are tight.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎08-29-2008

Re: Intermittent sound interruption

Message 5 of 8
(1,538 Views)

@CRobGauth wrote:

Does it happen on both the VMS and IPC?

If so, then check coax conections.

Start at ONT and make sure all of the connections are tight.


Yes, it happens on both the VMS and IPC boxes. The coax and HDMI cables have been checked, disconnected and reconnected. The problem remains.

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor II Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 988
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Intermittent sound interruption

Message 6 of 8
(1,553 Views)

Ok , try the total reboot. Unplug the the VMS and IPC from power, plug them back in after a minute or two. While you're at it might as well reboot the the ONT too, just to say everything is fresh. Also reboot router. See if that helps at all. If not gotta check in diagnostic menu on bad channels to see what the SNR is.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-27-2011

Re: Intermittent sound interruption

Message 7 of 8
(320 Views)

Same problem Can you please stop with the acronyms and say what they mean?

Highlighted
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,934
Registered: ‎07-06-2016

Re: Intermittent sound interruption

Message 8 of 8
(313 Views)

In order to keep discussion on the community current, this topic has been locked to prevent new replies. If you have a similar question or issue that you wish to discuss, then please feel free to post a new message on the most relevant board. Thanks!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.