×

Switch Account

Intermittent video dropouts

Intermittent video dropouts

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor ifrisbie
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2009
Message 11 of 60
(5,157 Views)

Yeah, I wouldn't be so quick to blame the TV's.  I have a sharp and have read nothing about compatibility issues.  They also provide regular firmware updates. 

 

Too much evidence here that points to the 7216.  They shouldn't be giving their customers this unit when they know they are using HDMI.

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-29-2009
Message 12 of 60
(5,119 Views)

I have 2 HDTV's a Pioneer Elite 1150, and a Visio 32in Plasma, I also Have a 7216 1 DVR, and a 7100 1 STB.  I get the dropouts on both tv's, but more on the Visio/7216 combo. I aslo get lockups on both boves sometimes when going through the On Demand menus. 

 

These boxes are terrible.  My old Dish network box was so much eaiser to navigate, it was so much more responsive to commands with either the RF or IR remotes, and It had a usably USB port for adding an external HD.  I had 750GB of movies recorded.  

 

The Guide was also much more acurate.  There was an episode number, and origanal air date, so you could see if it was a new show or a re-run.  Verizon is trying to blame their inaccurate guide on the channels.  How did dish network get it right then?

 

 

Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 13 of 60
(5,096 Views)

Problems with the video cutting out but leaving the audio intact, IS a known issue with the 7216. In fact Verizon is even considering pulling all the 7216's due to all the issues. 6416 stb's are identical to the 7216 when it comes to the connections. the difference is in the internals of the two boxes. The only compatibility problem with the 6416 is mostly with Samsung TV's and it looses both the video and audio

 

 

Now the temp solution of switching from HDMI to Component cables....You do realize that there is no picture quality difference between the two until you reach 1080p right? Both component and HDMI can handle the 1080i just fine. And to top it off, most HD programming comes in 720p/i anyway. 1080 is still relatively a small ammount of programs and the number of programs that go all the way up to the 1080p is even smaller. So using the component cables will affect a VERY small amount of programs. At least for the very near future.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Copper Contributor Massman
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-15-2009
Message 14 of 60
(5,084 Views)
I see what you are saying about the comparison of the HDMI and component but I disagree. When I 1st changed from component to HDMI the picture was so much better and definitely noticable. everyone that looked at the picture made a comment on how much more vibrant the picture was with HDMI and FIOS over the component video. Hopefully the problem will be addressed and we will start a different discussion on how wonderful the HDMI is ....
Contributor chrislaura1
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-22-2009
Message 15 of 60
(5,079 Views)
I am also having  this problem with my panasonic  plasma that I just bought.  I have not called VErizon to complain yet.  I  am so frustrated.  Just wondering though if the problem is still there if you run the hdmi cable from the set top box to a receiver then to the TV?
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-29-2009
Message 16 of 60
(5,055 Views)

Problem is that my Component input is Occupied by my WII, so all I have left is HDMI's, I can't hook up the WII through HDMI. 

I really think Verizon should dump Motorola and get someone else to handle their STB's and DVR's.  Dish builds their own I think, and they work great.  Motorola builds for many different cable providers, and seems to have problems mating their hardware to the cable/FIOS software. 

Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
Message 17 of 60
(5,045 Views)

@chrislaura1 wrote:
I am also having  this problem with my panasonic  plasma that I just bought.  I have not called VErizon to complain yet.  I  am so frustrated.  Just wondering though if the problem is still there if you run the hdmi cable from the set top box to a receiver then to the TV?

 

Not sure, the problem is that Verizon is not sure EXACTLY where the problem is. they dont know if the problem is with the compatibiltiy between the box and the tv or if it is the output on the box dropping. If the problem is with the compatibility, then connecting to the receiver, then to the tv should hopefully correct the issue. If the problem is with the output dropping then it doenst matter what it is connected to. This is a widespread issue that is getting a lot of attention by Verizon. Time will tell




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Contributor mab41
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-25-2009
Message 18 of 60
(4,958 Views)
This is ridiculous! I have a Panasonic plasma tv and the audio and video drop out for a few seconds at random times. It used to happen once or twice a day and now it seems to happen every 5 minutes or so. It is so frustrating and annoying. Based on my research it appears that the problem is the HD DVR. We pay all this extra money for an HD DVR for our HD tvs yet it doesn't even function properly. Please address this isssue and fix your product!
Contributor bout2drop
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-26-2009
Message 19 of 60
(4,908 Views)

Sounds very familiar.  When is Verizon going to own up to and fix this problem?  I have a Sharp Aquos SE94U with a 7216 and am tired of the run around regarding whose problem it really is.  Finally found this forum and realize that, as of now, my option is to use component or go to Direct.  It does not appear to be confined to my TV model as the phone techs tell me.  Nor is it my set as everything else runs fine on HDMI.  I also notice that there are no verizon technical responses on this thread. 

 

 

 

Copper Contributor ethics
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-09-2009
Message 20 of 60
(4,653 Views)

We converted 3 months ago from Comcast to FiOS b/c of promises of better service, however, we have had video/audio dropouts from the beginning, with the QIP 7216.  different reps came 6 times in 2-3 weeks, switched out the 7216 for a new one 3 times, and told us (1) that the 7216 was not the problem, and (2) the 6416 would not have dropouts but would not enable the viewing of recorded material from other sets on the home system.  Is that true? Also, when I connect the coaxial cable directly to the HDTV (Sony KDL46-v4100)  bypassing the STB, there are no dropouts.  Also, no dropouts with the regular STBs for our non-HD TVs. The reps stoppped coming, despite scheduled appointments.

 

So, will the QIP 6416 actually work, including the home media distribution function?

Thanks. 

Message Edited by ethics on 07-09-2009 08:23 PM
Message Edited by ethics on 07-09-2009 08:23 PM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.