×

Switch Account

Issues with setting up new box to TV

Issues with setting up new box to TV

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-18-2018
Message 1 of 6
(2,873 Views)

Hello!

I just got a new box from Verizon for Fios TV. When I try to activate I get an error that the coax cable is not connected and the VMS moca link is down. Everything is connected correctly. Has anyone else had this issue? Any suggestions for trouble shooting?

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,572
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 2 of 6
(2,858 Views)

Is that your only box? There has to be coax connected to the router. Is a little house in the top left corner of the vms display?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-18-2018
Message 3 of 6
(2,843 Views)

It is the only box. We previously had Direct TV and tried to use the same coax connector. Our router is in a separate room. Is there anyway to use the existing coax connector or would we need to run a coax connector to the router?

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,572
Registered: ‎06-24-2018
Message 4 of 6
(2,828 Views)

From you ont which is your main fios equipment you will need a coax coming from that to a 2 port splitter then one to router and one to vms. 

 


 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,784
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 5 of 6
(2,764 Views)

Also, verify splitter says it is bi-directional for 2Ghz


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-16-2019
Message 6 of 6
(703 Views)

I had a similar issue recently. Verizon sent me a new DVR box and a new G3100 router. After replacing both boxes, the internet was working fine (although the green lights at the back for the WAN & LAN port would not light up green to indicate connectivity) but the set top box would not connect and report "VMS Moca link is down error message". All the connections were verified and reverified several times with the help of tech support. When the set top box is connected, the coax indicator at the back of the G3100 router should turn green but it never did. Finally a technician showed up and was able to identify the issue. After checking for signal issues, the coax connectivity from the OTN to the set top box and to the router were all good. He replaced the router and then everything started to work (all lights at the back turned green - wan / lan and coax)

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.