Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

LAN Port on Verizon DVR

Reply
guappo
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2012

LAN Port on Verizon DVR

Message 1 of 8
(2,267 Views)

I wold like to connect my Panasonic Blue Ray DVD player directly to the Verison DVR.  There is a LAN Port on the DVR, but I'm told it is not active.  I could wire back from my Verison router, but it is inconvenient.  It would mean a long wire through my house.

The DVD does not connect to the wireless network reliably.

7 REPLIES 7
Stolli
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-23-2011

Re: LAN Port on Verizon DVR

Message 2 of 8
(2,249 Views)

Even if that port was active it would not supply your DVD player with internet access. Add a wireless repeater to your network closer to your player, or start running wires. 

mattheww
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: LAN Port on Verizon DVR

Message 3 of 8
(2,227 Views)

The other choice instead of wireless or ethernet cabling is to connect with a MOCA bridge. Internet access is available at the DVR via the Coax. Unfortunately MOCA bridges tend to be fairly pricey unless you can find a used Motorola NIM 100.

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: LAN Port on Verizon DVR

Message 4 of 8
(2,226 Views)

@mattheww wrote:

The other choice instead of wireless or ethernet cabling is to connect with a MOCA bridge. Internet access is available at the DVR via the Coax. Unfortunately MOCA bridges tend to be fairly pricey unless you can find a used Motorola NIM 100.


Great suggestion! I have been using a NIM-100 for years to provide internet connectivity at the far end of our house. Works very well, no wireless signal interference or strength issues.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9
Keller, TX 76248 

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: LAN Port on Verizon DVR

Message 5 of 8
(2,223 Views)

the moca bridges are REALLY neat, can be cheap and super easy plug and play devices.

 

 

try searching ebay for a motorola nim 100 and see if any are available.  

 

if you're relatively handy with a PC then you can buy another router from ebay as low as 20-30 bucks and then turn it into a bridge.   that is also an option 

 

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: LAN Port on Verizon DVR

Message 6 of 8
(2,220 Views)

also, if the dvd player can do wireless and you say it isn't reliable, then try to change the wireless channel.  it's easy to do and may solve your problem right away.

 

  you can do that in the router.   open a browser, and go to http://192.168.1.1

 

user name is admin.  and the password is most likely the serial number found on the service tag of your VZ router unless you changed it. Once you login succesfully, go to the top and hit wireless, then on the left basic security.   then go to option 3 which is channel  1, 6 and 11 and are the only channels you should try.

 

So it will likely be set to auto, change it to 11 and put the check for keep settings even after reboot (Directly under the channel) and then hit apply.  after you hit apply,  test your connection out, if you notice a difference, leave it like that until the problem happens again, and if it happens again, go back into the router, and try channel 6,     test it out.  and then finally 1 if the first two don't work.

 

Also take a look at page 2 of Actiontec's Wireless PDF File.  It gives you some idea's with regards to position and orientation of where the router sits and how it can best be positioned for maximum coverage.

 

  http://support.actiontec.com/doc_files/MI424WR_Rev(all)_Wireless_Networking_Guide.pdf

lasagna
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,002
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: LAN Port on Verizon DVR

Message 7 of 8
(2,150 Views)

It's not that the port on the STB is NOT active -- it's that the port is not for connections TO the STB (as in an internet access point), it's to allow the STB to connect TO the internet in cases where it needs such a connection path (i.e. it's they same type of port as the one on your DVD player).   In Verizon's case, it's not needed since they support MoCA and can run the internet connection path across the same coax as the TV signal comes.

 

As mention previously, the best solution is a MoCA bridge.   ActionTec HME2200/ECB2200.

 

Buy one of these, install a splitter -- run one cable to the STB and the other to the MoCA bridge -- and you're all set.   No configuration required.  It will supply you with a single ethernet port to which you can attach any device you wish and utilize the MoCA connection path (the same way a STB does it) to reach the internet.  If you have more than one device to connect, simply attach a small switch to the bridge first.

 

 

scooterdog
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: LAN Port on Verizon DVR

Message 8 of 8
(2,112 Views)

Many thanks for the information lasagna - just what I needed!

 

Now I don't have to run ethernet outside the house and around and under a deck and then through brick, which is what my FiOS installer had to do this morning to install a STB to the media room. (And I've wasted enough time with powerline networking and a b/g router trying to stream video that I've given up.)

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.