Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Lg TV and stb box without dvr

SOLVED
Reply
DrZee
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2009

Lg TV and stb box without dvr

Message 1 of 7
(6,530 Views)
my question is,when I change channels on my LG tv it takes about 4-5 seconds b4 the picture comes on,it only happens on this tv and not the other one which is a samsung with a stb and dvr any ideas if its the tv or the box not meshing? Thanks for any help
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Lg TV and stb box without dvr

Message 5 of 7
(6,493 Views)

I have a Sony TV, not LGB, but I saw that initially using an HDMI connection whenever I switched from an SD channel to an HD channel or vice versa. If that is where you are seeing the delay, it is caused by the re-sync the HDMI protocol requires when the resolution is changed (720p/1080i to 480x or back). You can fix this by changing the SD Override setting in the Menu to "OFF"', leaving it at any 480x setting will still require the re-sync.

 

Menu ==> Settings ==> Video Settings ==> SD Override == Off

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248

 

 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
DrZee
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2009

Re: Lg TV and stb box without dvr

Message 2 of 7
(6,521 Views)
 
prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Lg TV and stb box without dvr

Message 3 of 7
(6,517 Views)
It the LG connected via a HDMI or a component cable? May be characteristics of the TV when connect with HDMI, if HDMI cable is being used. You could try a component and see if it does the same.
Joe01880
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎08-08-2008

Re: Lg TV and stb box without dvr

Message 4 of 7
(6,511 Views)
Check your 4:3 settings inside the STB, if thet are set to 480p try setting them to 480i, off, or stretch, see if that helps. Some TV's take a while to switch modes.
Joe was here
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Lg TV and stb box without dvr

Message 5 of 7
(6,494 Views)

I have a Sony TV, not LGB, but I saw that initially using an HDMI connection whenever I switched from an SD channel to an HD channel or vice versa. If that is where you are seeing the delay, it is caused by the re-sync the HDMI protocol requires when the resolution is changed (720p/1080i to 480x or back). You can fix this by changing the SD Override setting in the Menu to "OFF"', leaving it at any 480x setting will still require the re-sync.

 

Menu ==> Settings ==> Video Settings ==> SD Override == Off

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248

 

 

View solution in original post

DrZee
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2009

Re: Lg TV and stb box without dvr

Message 6 of 7
(6,480 Views)
Justin,thanks for that great fix that was an annoying problem that is no longer one DRZEE
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Lg TV and stb box without dvr

Message 7 of 7
(6,469 Views)

DrZee,

 

You are welcome, I guess that makes me about 1 for 100 to 200 or so lately Smiley Very Happy  

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title