Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Lip Sync with Fios STB (VMS4100)

Reply
clem53
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,509
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Lip Sync with Fios STB (VMS4100)

Message 41 of 55
(977 Views)

The whole CEC thing is really frustrating. You'd think by now everyone would have it working correctly,  but some manufacturers just dont really care. Have you tried the optical out from your TV to the soundbar?

bstpeg
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-14-2020

Re: Lip Sync with Fios STB (VMS4100)

Message 42 of 55
(964 Views)

mbpe300 already said that the same issue happens with optical, so I don't really think I'm going to bother trying. 

clem53
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,509
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Lip Sync with Fios STB (VMS4100)

Message 43 of 55
(893 Views)

@bstpeg wrote:

mbpe300 already said that the same issue happens with optical, so I don't really think I'm going to bother trying. 


He tried optical from Fios box to TV. Try optical from TV to soundbar. Also I read in posts on Samsung forums that there is a built in 30ms delay baked into the Samsung TVs. The only way to change it is through the service menu. Don't know if it will help, but there are several posts on Samsungs forums about it and how to change it.

bstpeg
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-14-2020

Re: Lip Sync with Fios STB (VMS4100)

Message 44 of 55
(871 Views)

I spent quite a bit of time reading this thread. It seems to describe the issues I'm seeing including the lip sync, changing to PCM working, and using passthrough working. It also describes the issue with the sound bar not turning on automatically when using passthrough.

 

The solution for changing the HDMI delay level didn't really make much of a difference for me.


Also, multiple people on that thread indicated that using optical to connect TV to the sound bar didn't make any difference.

clem53
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,509
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Lip Sync with Fios STB (VMS4100)

Message 45 of 55
(846 Views)

 


@bstpeg wrote:

I spent quite a bit of time reading this thread. It seems to describe the issues I'm seeing including the lip sync, changing to PCM working, and using passthrough working. It also describes the issue with the sound bar not turning on automatically when using passthrough.

 

The solution for changing the HDMI delay level didn't really make much of a difference for me.


Also, multiple people on that thread indicated that using optical to connect TV to the sound bar didn't make any difference.


Good to see someone's actually read about the problem with the Samsung TVs recent firmware updates. I'm just trying to give every possible option for people to try in case any of them work. Also good to note that LPCM isn't necessarily stereo only but can be multichannel. Its system dependent,  not sure if the 4100 sends out 2.0 or 5.1 via LPCM. Trying optical can sometimes reduce audio delays that occur with ARC implementation, but sometimes it creates it's own delay. Its unfortunately a problem with the manufacturers not closely following the established standards for AV transmission and we are really lucky when it all works.

SteelerNation
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-29-2014

Audio video sync issues with fios one

Message 46 of 55
(848 Views)

I just got a Samsung 7100 65 inch tv and the audio and video are out of sync. The lips are never in sync with these audio. What's going on here? I just also got the fios one box.  

 

How can isolve this? 

clem53
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,509
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Audio video sync issues with fios one

Message 47 of 55
(778 Views)

@SteelerNation wrote:

I just got a Samsung 7100 65 inch tv and the audio and video are out of sync. The lips are never in sync with these audio. What's going on here? I just also got the fios one box.  

 

How can isolve this? 


Are the people speaking before their lips move, or after? Do you use a soundbar or AV Receiver, or is the Fios box going directly into the TV?

SteelerNation
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-29-2014

Re: Audio video sync issues with fios one

Message 48 of 55
(774 Views)

Fios box goes directly to the TV. I have no soundbar.  I'm thinking the sound is delayed slightly after the picture. Someone slams down something ad a split second later I hear the sound. 

 

So annoying to watch the news. All the lips are off.

 

I saw something about going into a diagnostic mode (Power, OK, OK) and set the Fios One box to "Pass Through" this seems to have matched up the video to the sound... Not sure if it was appropriate for me to do so...

 

Is this a Samsung thing, or... ???

clem53
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,509
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Audio video sync issues with fios one

Message 49 of 55
(720 Views)

You can certainly go into the service menu and change options, just be careful what you change. I usually take a photo of the BEFORE screen then make my changes so I can go back if necessary. Hope the pass-through works for you. It is beginning to look like a dis-proportionate number of people with this issue have Samsung TVs. I read on their forum Samsung programs in a 30ms delay on the audio as standard. If you check, there are posts that tell how to change that in the TVs service menu.

SteelerNation
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎07-29-2014

Re: Audio video sync issues with fios one

Message 50 of 55
(699 Views)

Ifit was Samsung's fault why would passthrough solve it? It should still have a 30ms delay regardless of being pass through or Dolby. Seems to me processing the audio to Dolby in the fios box messed up the audio sync... passthrough,  where the signal is unaltered keeps the audio sync perfect... If it wasSamsung's fault the delay would be there even after changing the fios box to passthrough as well. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.