×

Switch Account

Local TV w/o STB or FIOS TV 1

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-12-2015

Local TV w/o STB or FIOS TV 1

Message 1 of 6
(512 Views)

Hi:

 

I would like to be able to view and pay for local TV without a STB or a FIOS TV 1 streaming box.  Verizon used to be able to enable local TV on the cable and then feed it into the TV tuner directly.  Recent chats with Verizon sales indicate that is no longer possible.  Is that due to a change in data on the fiber or an inexperienced sales rep?

 

I have tried OTA antennas with mixed results.  Local TV streaming from Hulu, AT&T TV is expensive and includes alot of channels we do not watch, yet pay for.  Can someone from Verizon reply with the real story ?  Thanks

 

Peter

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,842
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Local TV w/o STB or FIOS TV 1

Message 6 of 6
(437 Views)

Just went online like I was ordering new service. I selected 200/200 for Internet and Local TV at $40 with no STBs. The rep you talked to was misinformed. 

You can try and see if @VerizonSupport on Twitter or VZ Direct at dslreports.com can help.


Screenshot_20200414-232305_Chrome.jpg

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 843
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Local TV w/o STB or FIOS TV 1

Message 2 of 6
(501 Views)

I'm not from Verizon,  but you should be able to hook the coax cable from the wall into the antenna input of your TV, and scan for channels. You have to pay for basic cable, nothing is free. Set the TV to antenna input, go to channel scan, set it to cable not OTA and you should have a decent number of channels. Your TV will show a lot more if its capable of decoding MPEG4.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,842
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Local TV w/o STB or FIOS TV 1

Message 3 of 6
(486 Views)

It is 100% possible and my mom has it. It’s called FiOS TV Local. She pays $25 for it the local TV service. There’s no box, just connect to the coax ok your TV and scan like clem said. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-12-2015

Re: Local TV w/o STB or FIOS TV 1

Message 4 of 6
(462 Views)

Hi Everyone:

 

Thanks for the replies thus far.  Like I said in my original post the Verizon rep said that local TV on the fibre is no longer offered w/o a cable box or FIOS TV 1.   Maybe it was a sales tactic or it could be related to a switch in networks that was done during a recent FIOS speed upgrade.  The Technician that came out to do the speed and ONT upgrade left for a few minutes to switch our fibre at the junction box for the neighborhood.  He said we were on the "old network" and he needed to put us on the "new network" in order to get the higher speed. 

 

Maybe the "new network" has local TV encrypted on the fibre and the STB or FIOS TV 1 is required to decode the data to feed to the QAM tuner ?  A simple answer from VZW would be nice.  I'm not asking for the formula for cold fusion.  I just want to give Verizon the fee instead of AT&T or Hulu.  Thanks

 

Peter

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 843
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Local TV w/o STB or FIOS TV 1

Message 5 of 6
(455 Views)

@kapinos wrote:

Hi Everyone:

 

Thanks for the replies thus far.  Like I said in my original post the Verizon rep said that local TV on the fibre is no longer offered w/o a cable box or FIOS TV 1.   Maybe it was a sales tactic or it could be related to a switch in networks that was done during a recent FIOS speed upgrade.  The Technician that came out to do the speed and ONT upgrade left for a few minutes to switch our fibre at the junction box for the neighborhood.  He said we were on the "old network" and he needed to put us on the "new network" in order to get the higher speed. 

 

Maybe the "new network" has local TV encrypted on the fibre and the STB or FIOS TV 1 is required to decode the data to feed to the QAM tuner ?  A simple answer from VZW would be nice.  I'm not asking for the formula for cold fusion.  I just want to give Verizon the fee instead of AT&T or Hulu.  Thanks

 

Peter

 


Have you tried hooking up the cable to your TV, setting it to cable instead of ANT and doing a channel scan? Supposedly only pay channels are encrypted.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,842
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Local TV w/o STB or FIOS TV 1

Message 6 of 6
(438 Views)

Just went online like I was ordering new service. I selected 200/200 for Internet and Local TV at $40 with no STBs. The rep you talked to was misinformed. 

You can try and see if @VerizonSupport on Twitter or VZ Direct at dslreports.com can help.


Screenshot_20200414-232305_Chrome.jpg

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.