Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Low audio for one channel

SOLVED
Reply
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-26-2009

Low audio for one channel

Message 1 of 8
(567 Views)

For most channels, I have the audio set in the upper 30s to mid-40s. But for the CW, I have to crank it up to 60 or so or dialog is inaudible. I can't say for certain that this is the only channel so effected since I don't watch all that many, but it's consistently so here. Is this simply a matter of "that's how that channel is" or is there a way to fix the audio of individual channels?

 

This happens with the STB connected via HDMI or component, and with and without a sound bar.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,284
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Low audio for one channel

Message 6 of 8
(476 Views)

@Scott_r1 wrote:

I've used Surround for audio format, with both the TV (Samsung) and the sound bar (Sonos); no difference for the lower volume for that one channel. Volume is already set to Fixed.


Try setting the compression to heavy.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,284
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Low audio for one channel

Message 2 of 8
(554 Views)

@Scott_r1 wrote:

For most channels, I have the audio set in the upper 30s to mid-40s. But for the CW, I have to crank it up to 60 or so or dialog is inaudible. I can't say for certain that this is the only channel so effected since I don't watch all that many, but it's consistently so here. Is this simply a matter of "that's how that channel is" or is there a way to fix the audio of individual channels?

 

This happens with the STB connected via HDMI or component, and with and without a sound bar.


That channel may be using less compression than the others you watch, or a different audio format like stereo vs Dolby digital. You might want to check the audio sections of the setup menu to see if you have no compression or audio passthrough enabled.

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-26-2009

Re: Low audio for one channel

Message 3 of 8
(549 Views)

Thanks. Do only certain STB's have those options? I have the Motorola QIP7232-P2. Under Audio in Settings, there is:

STB Volume

Audio Format (STEREO)

Volume control (FIXED) though I've also tried variable

Dynamic Range (LIGHT)

Audio Alerts

Audio Selection

MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,284
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Low audio for one channel

Message 4 of 8
(541 Views)

@Scott_r1 wrote:

Thanks. Do only certain STB's have those options? I have the Motorola QIP7232-P2. Under Audio in Settings, there is:

STB Volume

Audio Format (STEREO)

Volume control (FIXED) though I've also tried variable

Dynamic Range (LIGHT)

Audio Alerts

Audio Selection


The Fios one has passthrough, you could try audio format and see if it has a surround option. Dynamic range is the compression setting, light gives you the biggest swing of loud to soft, heavy is the least change form soft to loud. Volume should be fixed if you use anything other than the box to control volume. Once you set the volume control to fixed, the volume will be set to an optimal value.

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-26-2009

Re: Low audio for one channel

Message 5 of 8
(475 Views)

I've used Surround for audio format, with both the TV (Samsung) and the sound bar (Sonos); no difference for the lower volume for that one channel. Volume is already set to Fixed.

MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,284
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Low audio for one channel

Message 6 of 8
(477 Views)

@Scott_r1 wrote:

I've used Surround for audio format, with both the TV (Samsung) and the sound bar (Sonos); no difference for the lower volume for that one channel. Volume is already set to Fixed.


Try setting the compression to heavy.

View solution in original post

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-26-2009

Re: Low audio for one channel

Message 7 of 8
(418 Views)

Setting compression to heavy doesn't help. It simply muddies the sound for ALL channels while not fixing the volume issue on the one.

MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,284
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Low audio for one channel

Message 8 of 8
(414 Views)

@Scott_r1 wrote:

Setting compression to heavy doesn't help. It simply muddies the sound for ALL channels while not fixing the volume issue on the one.


If you tried the other suggestions and one is still lower than others it is most likely broadcast that way. Providers are notorious for not closely following standards and this may be the case, especially if it does it with more than one box.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.