×

Switch Account

Media Manager Audio Playback Issues

Media Manager Audio Playback Issues

Reply
Copper Contributor DJHA90
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-08-2009
Message 25 of 62
(11,989 Views)
I am having the same issue now.  Everything works fione to the point when I click to play the song.....  Nothing happens.  It doesnt lock up or anything...  but nothing freaking happens...    Pictures and Videos ok.
Copper Contributor jakehale1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-05-2009
Message 26 of 62
(11,955 Views)

Yep, out of the blue last night the sample video (tokyo something or the other) started working, but no other AVI's i have will.   Still having the same issue with the MP3.  I'm at a loss as to what it could be.

 

I could care less about anything other than the MP3's.....again let me say... I am not going to leave verizon because of this, but it would be nice if it worked.

 

Jake

 

Copper Contributor DJHA90
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-08-2009
Message 23 of 62
(11,756 Views)
Everything seems to be working from my tv with the exception that media manager only plays songs for about 15 seconds.  Anyone else having similar issues?
Copper Contributor Funkybrunk
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Message 18 of 62
(11,944 Views)
Still can't get Video to work, but that is a different issue. Music always plays in alpha order instead of track order. Anyone else have this issue?
Copper Contributor jakehale1
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-05-2009
Message 20 of 62
(11,927 Views)

be happy your music is working... 🙂   Allot of folks are just having trouble with that part...

 

Did your music just "work" or did you have to set something up to make it start working?

 

Copper Contributor Funkybrunk
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Message 21 of 62
(11,923 Views)
It just started working last night. I think it may be that I rebuilt the MM database and I set up FFmpeg to exclude MM.
Contributor Alvester
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 30 of 62
(11,827 Views)

I have the same issue wherein songs are played back in alphabetical order from an album rather than in the order they are on the album. I'm playing all the music back off of a an HP MediaSmart Windows Home Server with Windows Media Player 11 installed on the Windows Home Server.The WHS is hooked to a Linksys WRT600N via Ethernet. The WRT600N is in turn hooked to the FIOS Actiontec router via Ethernet.The Media Manager software is installed on the WHS.

 

(I'm still using the WRT600N because it has wirless N and Gigabit capabilities which the FIOS router does not. The WRT600N is essentially in switch mode with the wireless N and G still runnning on it.)

 

Not being able to play back the song titles in original album order is a drag but in all fairness to Fios' Media Manager I had this exact same issue  when playing back music to my DLNA compliant  Denon AVR 4308ci Home Theater Receiver from my Windows Home Server. This is why I gave Fios's Media Manager software a try in hopes of rectifying this issue.

 

Even though I'm bummed by MM's inability to play the songs in the correct order, I'm much more satisfied with it's responsiveness relative to that of my Denon receiver's. MM's interface is fairly snappy. (Browsing long lists using only the channel up and down buttons is a drag though.)

 

Does anybody know if this song order issue might be fixed in a future update from Verizon?

 

Also browsing through long album lists and song lists is tedious on the FIOS MM. I have over 1200 albums on my server. I wish there was a way to go directly to an album using the keypad on the FIOS remote.

Copper Contributor clickitysplit
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-16-2009
Message 27 of 62
(12,334 Views)

MEDIA MANAGER plays pictures just fine, but the DVR menu screen locks up when attempting to play MP3 files.  Power cycling the DVR is the only way to correct it.  The DVR front panel alternately flashes a number (I saw 66) with a symbol (° )  for a little while, then reverts to the TV channel it's on.  The TV channel video and audio play continuously throughout.  The DVR model is MOT QIP72161.

 

I have the latest edition of MEDIA MANAGER (9.2.72) running on 2 different XP SP3 machines.  Neither machine runs a firewall, Windows or otherwise.    I have Norton AntiVirus running with Advanced Protection and Intrusion Protection temporarily turned off.

 

One PC is a 3.0GHz Dual Core with 4GB RAM, and the other is a 2.13GHZ Core 2 Duo with 4GB RAM -- all 32 bit.  Tried running MEDIA MANAGER over an MP3 library that's local to the 3.0GHz machine, and on the other machine tried running a different MP3 library on a NAS box from a mapped drive.

 

My MP3 files have no DRM and are mostly 320kbps.  I have some at lower bit rates, but it doesn't matter.  None play.

 

All network nodes are on the same subnet 192.168.1.XXX.  The only deviation from the default router setting is port forward FTP to one particular node.

 

This is my router:

 

Software Version: 1.02.00.04 Release Date: Aug 28 2008 Platform: Westell UltraLine Series3 Model Number: A90-9100EM15-10 INI File Name: 096-900205-02 INI File Version: A Hardware Version: B Hardware Serial Number: 08AK10101214

 

Is there anything else I can try? 

 

I really want to stop pulling the power on these DVRs.  I can't help but think it accelerates their demise.  It definitely ruined a show I happened to be recording while I was playing with MM.

Copper Contributor clickitysplit
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-16-2009
Message 28 of 62
(12,322 Views)

I just turned of the UPnP media server I had running on my NAS, and it WORKED!!!  Must have caused some sort of conflict.

Copper Contributor Swirly
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 29 of 62
(12,215 Views)

Hi, clickitysplit. I installed Media Manager on my PC on Sunday. I ran the program on my DVR STB, and had no problems accessing the pictures. I had no problems accessing the Internet content, although it runs very slowly. However, when I went to play the music files, the program froze on the STB. No songs were played, and I was unable to close the screen to return to regular TV. I had to refresh the STB by unplugging the cord.

 

Can you be a bit more specific with the solution? How do I go about turning off the UPnP media server? I'm running Win Vista on my desktop. Thanks very much!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.