Media Manager for MAC

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-17-2008

Media Manager for MAC

Message 1 of 9
(15,698 Views)

OK, I received a message that Media Manager for Mac was ready, I downloaded and installed it ok. Followed all the instructions but when I try to bring it up on my tv under media manager I get the message that media manager can't be found. Any help is appreciated. thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-17-2008

Re: Media Manager for MAC

Message 8 of 9
(15,460 Views)

Thanks for your input. I had a Mac Time Machine in line between the router and the computer. I rearranged the wiring and now my Media Manager is working fine. Many Thanks!!!

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009

Re: Media Manager for MAC

Message 2 of 9
(15,692 Views)

I could be wrong but I believe the verizon end of the media manager for Mac wont be ready until the 29th. Also, how is your network set up? if you have the computer on a subnet of the verizon tv network it, the stb won't be able to see the computer with out a manual route set in the routers.



"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎01-10-2009

Re: Media Manager for MAC

Message 3 of 9
(15,675 Views)

Announcement on STB said 10/20 for Mac MM.  Downloaded Mac app from site and set up fine, but nothing shows from MM on STB.  Have successfully pinged STB from computer as suggested in FAQ.  Computer connected via hardwire to router, no other issues with DVR, VOD, internet, etc.

 

Is there a firewall or security setting on the Verizon router that needs to be set or something in Mac networking setup that needs to be changed?

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009

Re: Media Manager for MAC

Message 4 of 9
(15,643 Views)

I read in another post that it uses port 18001. You might want to try turning off any firewalls on the mac. if it works after that then an exception needs to made for the port in the firewall.



"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎01-10-2009

Re: Media Manager for MAC

Message 5 of 9
(15,639 Views)

Problem solved - at least the connectivity.  It was the forewall on the Mac  - useing the Security icon in System preferences.  Added Verizon MM as an exeption App and access is there.

 

Bad news as others have found is it appears no AAC or Apple Lossless files play, which make up a good part of my iTunes library.  Tried to play a song and it locked up on screen with no way out.  Also, limited setttings on photo display options, but I guess it is a step forward being even on a Mac, albeit a small one.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-17-2008

Re: Media Manager for MAC

Message 6 of 9
(15,623 Views)

I tried that and I still can't get it to work. I wish Verizon would check to make sure their products actually work first before they announce that they are available.

 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009

Re: Media Manager for MAC

Message 7 of 9
(15,489 Views)

 


@alanm47 wrote:

I tried that and I still can't get it to work. I wish Verizon would check to make sure their products actually work first before they announce that they are available.

 


 

Do you have a secondary router between your computer and the Verizon router? This maybe a stupid question but was media manager running on the computer when you tried to access it from the TV?

 



"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎12-17-2008

Re: Media Manager for MAC

Message 8 of 9
(15,461 Views)

Thanks for your input. I had a Mac Time Machine in line between the router and the computer. I rearranged the wiring and now my Media Manager is working fine. Many Thanks!!!

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-31-2009

Re: Media Manager for MAC

Message 9 of 9
(14,786 Views)

Folks, is this upgrade only for MAC or should it correct any problems with iTunes on a PC as well. I have a PC but could not get anything in my iTunes library to play. Only content on my hard drive not connected to iTunes would play with the IMG.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.