Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Missing Some Channels

SOLVED
Reply
ItsFred
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2010

Missing Some Channels

Message 1 of 7
(4,407 Views)

Hi ...

 

I have TIVO with 2 cable cards ... I am missing some channels from the upper end ... (All was fine yesterday) Like I get channel 551 but not 550 ... 600 but not 601 or 602 ... and so on ... I haven't checked all, but I am missing at least 10 of the HD channels ... Again, the lower SD channels are fine ... Tech Support believes it a cable card problem and suggests changing out the defective card ...

 

Does anyone have an alternate theory as to what this problem might be? 

And optional question for extra credit... Does Verizon now have the M-card?  The CSR says no, but I've read on other forums that they do ...

 

Thanks ...

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ItsFred
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2010

Re: Missing Some Channels

Message 6 of 7
(4,119 Views)

Had a Verizon tech out yesterday to change my S series to M series cards ... The install went easier than the original installation a year ago ... Trouble was, I still was missing some channels ... The tech checked the line and found that the level was low ... He decided maybe it was the splitter ... He changed it for a new one and that solved the problem!

 

This guy was good ... I'm not a total technical idiot, but I gotta admit, the splitter is one thing I never would have thought of ...

 

All is well again ...

 

CHEERS!

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
GaryDoug
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: Missing Some Channels

Message 2 of 7
(4,375 Views)

I assume you have a 2-tuner Tivo then, what with the two cable cards. Does this happen on both tuners? If not, can you swap the cable cards? That way you could see if the problem goes with the card or not. I am not familiar with Tivo enough to know if swapping the cards is possible; however there are some members here that are experts. Sounds like a tuner/demodulator quadrature fault but I suppose that could be caused by a defect with the card or tuner.

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Missing Some Channels

Message 3 of 7
(4,351 Views)

all m cards all day....   very very very very remote scenario's would you get an s card.  m cards are the order of the day.  

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Missing Some Channels

Message 4 of 7
(4,325 Views)

Yes I have had an MCARD from the start about a year ago. You can login to Verizon Central or my verizon and reset the cards, or call tech support and have them reset the cards. But I would say get the S-Cards replaced with an M-Card ASAP. No telling what will happen with TiVO and S-Cards on Sept 15. No one had discussed that issue. Plus one M-Card will cut your costs. Call and thell them you are having issues and want a new card. They will bring an M-Card.

ItsFred
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2010

Re: Missing Some Channels

Message 5 of 7
(4,301 Views)

Thanks for the replys y'all ...

 

The Tech agent I spoke with did reset the cable cards, (they are individually addressed and can't be swapped) with no luck ... I asked about the M-cards and he said they still don't have them ... From other messages I found in these forums, that seems to be the standard reply ... I will ask the tech coming to my home to bring M-card and see what he says ... I have had the original cards for over a year with no problems until now ... Would like the upgrade though

 

I'll post after I get the card(s) swapped out, due for a visit on Saturday afternoon ...

 

CHEERS!

ItsFred
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2010

Re: Missing Some Channels

Message 6 of 7
(4,120 Views)

Had a Verizon tech out yesterday to change my S series to M series cards ... The install went easier than the original installation a year ago ... Trouble was, I still was missing some channels ... The tech checked the line and found that the level was low ... He decided maybe it was the splitter ... He changed it for a new one and that solved the problem!

 

This guy was good ... I'm not a total technical idiot, but I gotta admit, the splitter is one thing I never would have thought of ...

 

All is well again ...

 

CHEERS!

View solution in original post

GaryDoug
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: Missing Some Channels

Message 7 of 7
(4,093 Views)

Nor would I. In retrospect I guess it makes some sense. Channel 600 was ok (651 mhz), channel 602 was NOT (141 mhz), channel 551 was ok (399 mhz), and channel 550 was NOT (135 mhz). See the trend....low frequencies NOT ok but higher ones are ok. I would have bet money on it being a tuner or card issue.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title