Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Reply
ENFiOS
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎12-23-2008

Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Message 1 of 11
(2,701 Views)

I have an older HDTV that only has component inputs.  I recently upgraded and after connecting my FiOS TV One equipment on other TVs, I connected a client FiOS TV One client to this older TV with a HDMI-Component adapter I bought at a Micro Center for $50.  It wouldn’t work.  I called a high end TV entertainment store in the area and was told they did not have any adapters that work and that they were illegal since they bypassed copyright technology which is what HDMI has built into it. My question to Verizon is what do we do in this case?  I’d be happy to keep my one quantum IP client on that TV, but it’s my understanding that Quantum and FiOS TV One equipment is not interchangeable.  What is the solution?  Replacing the TV is not an option.

10 REPLIES 10
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,938
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Message 2 of 11
(2,655 Views)

Unfortunately FiOS TV One only supports composite not component. You need 3.5 mm to RCA adapter. What you need is in the link below...

 

https://www.amazon.com/HDE-Triple-Composite-Splitter-Adapter/dp/B00CIC9KW2/ref=asc_df_B00CIC9KW2/?ta...

ENFiOS
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎12-23-2008

Re: Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Message 3 of 11
(2,633 Views)

You have absolutely no idea what I’m asking

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,961
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Message 4 of 11
(2,624 Views)

This is mainly a peer to peer support forum.

A component to HDMI adpater should work.

But a quick look shows that there are two flavors of adapter.

One is Component to HDMI and the other is HDMI to component.

You need to make sure you have a HDMI to component adapter.

Make sure any device you buy says it is to connect a HDMI device to a component monitor.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
ENFiOS
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎12-23-2008

Re: Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Message 5 of 11
(2,611 Views)

No adapter will work per Verizon. HDMI has copyright technology built into it, so even if the adapter appears to be what I need, it won’t work...and I have proven that.

 

Thank you, however for your assistance.

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,938
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Message 6 of 11
(2,588 Views)

That is incorrect. The link I sent you is what you need. In between the HDMI port and the USB port the is the AV output. But you need the adapter I told you in the link above. 


Screenshot_20190114-184955_Drive.jpg
Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,938
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Message 7 of 11
(2,581 Views)

You need composite/AV cables. Yellow/red/white. Component wires won't work. 

ENFiOS
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎12-23-2008

Re: Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Message 8 of 11
(2,560 Views)

Sorry if I misunderstood you, but the adapter you showed me wasn’t an HDMI - composite adapter so I thought you misunderstood ME.  The one you showed me would not produce an HDMI picture on my TV, so composite won’t work.  I thought you were showing me an audio adapter...sorry!

 

I returned the boxes today.  I’ll just keep the Quantum boxes with the component out. 

Edg1
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,938
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Message 9 of 11
(2,469 Views)

Sorry I did mistake your initial post. I thought it was an SDTV not an old HD. 

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,961
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Mix quantum and FiOS tv one

Message 10 of 11
(2,457 Views)

I would be skeptical of Verizon response.

Why do all of their other HD STBs support component output?

I assumed it was dropped from FIOSOne box strictly to make the box smaller.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.