Movie description overlay stuck on screen!

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-14-2020

Movie description overlay stuck on screen!

Message 1 of 6
(3,124 Views)

I have no idea how my grandparents keep doing this but they keep calling me to “fix” the description for the movie “Waves” is overlayed in the upper left corner, the screen is gray but you can still see the channel playing. It stays on no matter what channel, in the guide, in on demand, every menus option ever ! 

I can only fix it by unplugging the box and resetting it but what is even causing this?! 

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: Movie description overlay stuck on screen!

Message 2 of 6
(2,887 Views)

Mine reset when I went into settings and just clicked save settings. I don't know the cause but they should save a restart, which is painfully slow. 

 

I should note that it was a grandparent for me also.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-22-2020

Re: Movie description overlay stuck on screen!

Message 3 of 6
(2,698 Views)

My mother (almost 80) showed my this EXACT thing today - what is Waves to begin with?

I am going to try to reboot her device, but I too want to know how this is happening to older people only???  

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-12-2020

Re: Movie description overlay stuck on screen!

Message 4 of 6
(2,354 Views)

Ouch.  I am 50 and just happened to me. I am not old! I unplugged it to fix it.😭😂

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-01-2020

Re: Movie description overlay stuck on screen!

Message 5 of 6
(2,015 Views)

How do you reboot screen? Do you unplug router or box?

 

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,037
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Movie description overlay stuck on screen!

Message 6 of 6
(1,988 Views)

 

 



@glitch2020 wrote:

How do you reboot screen? Do you unplug router or box?

 


Try: menu>customer support >Top support tools >Reboot set top box. If that doesnt work, you'll have to unplug the power to the box for 2 minutes,  then plug back in.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.