×

Switch Account

Multi-Hub DVR , Not Multi-Room DVR

Multi-Hub DVR , Not Multi-Room DVR

Reply
Contributor Islanderman
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-02-2013
Message 1 of 4
(2,325 Views)

I just moved from Time Warner Cable (nightmare) back to FIOS and was wondering about the multi-hub dvr.  I understand that Verizon is pushing the multi-room dvr, but I wanted to be able to have 2 DVR's, and to be able to watch recorded programming from either box.  I have read that the Motorola boxes need version 1.9.  First of all, how am I supposed to know what version the box is currently at?  Secondly, i have called several different Verizon support people and not 1 has even heard of multi-hub DVR.  I asked support specifically if I could watch a DVR recording from TV1 on the DVR box on TV2  and they said No.  So what is the deal?  Can this be done?  Incredibly Time Warner did offer this service.

3 REPLIES 3
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
Message 2 of 4
(2,294 Views)

Initially they had to add the multi hum DVR feature to your account to make multiple Multi room DVR's work.  Its now pretty much done automatically when you add a Multi room DVR to your account.  They don't usually mention the distinction any more.

 

Yes you should always be able to use and see all your MR-DVR from all your STB's.

Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 3 of 4
(2,269 Views)

@Islanderman wrote:

... wondering about the multi-hub dvr ... wanted to be able to have 2 DVR's, and to be able to watch recorded programming from either box ... called several different Verizon support people and not 1 has even heard of multi-hub DVR ... watch a DVR recording from TV1 on the DVR box on TV2  ... Can this be done? ...


Try this link for a few definitions and terminology issues:

 

http://www22.verizon.com/support/residential/tv/fiostv/receivers/multi-room+dvr/questionsone/129824....

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 4 of 4
(2,226 Views)

@Islanderman wrote:

I just moved from Time Warner Cable (nightmare) back to FIOS and was wondering about the multi-hub dvr.  I understand that Verizon is pushing the multi-room dvr, but I wanted to be able to have 2 DVR's, and to be able to watch recorded programming from either box.  I have read that the Motorola boxes need version 1.9.  First of all, how am I supposed to know what version the box is currently at?  Secondly, i have called several different Verizon support people and not 1 has even heard of multi-hub DVR.  I asked support specifically if I could watch a DVR recording from TV1 on the DVR box on TV2  and they said No.  So what is the deal?  Can this be done?  Incredibly Time Warner did offer this service.


All DVRs have 1.9 now. You should be able to watch the content from either DVR, but one DVR can't program recordings or schedules from the other. Each DVR must be set to record and schedule recordings locally. Now if you throw a HD-STB into the mix, the STB can select which DVR to record at, and where to schedule the recordings. Yes it would be nice if one DVR could select to record on itself or the other.

 

But as Armond posted the link, yes it can be done.

 

When the VMS-1100 is released later this year, it will have six tuners, and 1TB HD, you will only need one, and an IPC-1100 STB. For one reason or another, it has not been released yet.

 

http://newscenter.verizon.com/residential/news-articles/2013/01-verizon-motorola-fios-tv-media-serve...

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-TV-Programming/CES-2013-and-items-that-will-change-the-way-you-enj...

 

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-at-Home/Seeing-the-Pulse-of-Our-Industry-From-the-Lens-of-Custo...

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.