Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Reply
tressa531
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Message 1 of 11
(10,051 Views)

I have a multi room DVR box in the living room and 3 standard boxes in the other rooms. I used to could be able to watch my recorded shows in all rooms but now I am not able to. I am only able to watch it in the living room. This was the main reason why I got the multi room DVR plan was to have the luxury watching in other rooms. Can someone please assist?

10 REPLIES 10
tns
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Message 2 of 11
(10,012 Views)

One make sure you activated Multi-room on the DVR.

 

two their is an item in settings on the STB's and DVR's specifically for fixing Multi-room problems.  Try it.

jbren
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-08-2009

Re: Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Message 3 of 11
(9,953 Views)

I repeatedly have problems with playback on my STB's. Go thru all the motions, inhouse agent, fix multi room dvr problems. Unplug unit, unplug dvr, etc. etc. etc.  The DVR'd show will play on the DVR but not on the STB's. What's up with that?

Anthony_VZ
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,216
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Message 4 of 11
(9,891 Views)

@jbren wrote:

I repeatedly have problems with playback on my STB's. Go thru all the motions, inhouse agent, fix multi room dvr problems. Unplug unit, unplug dvr, etc. etc. etc.  The DVR'd show will play on the DVR but not on the STB's. What's up with that?




Sorry to hear the auto fix suggested early did not fix your problem. So we can get more information from you, I have copied your post to our private support board. Please refer all correspondences to there from here on out. You can easily get to the private support one of two ways. In the email you signed up for the forums with, you will receive a link to click on. Make sure you are already signed into the forums before clicking on this link. Another way of getting there is by clicking on your username anywhere you see it in the forums. This brings you to your account profile. Scroll down to the section labeled "My Support Cases" . In there you will see the link to your case.

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

TonyaD_VZ
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 721
Registered: ‎01-06-2011

Re: Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Message 5 of 11
(9,709 Views)

We sent you a message on our private support board to assist you and we did not receive a response.  Please repost the issue if you are still experiencing a problem so that we may assist you.  Tonya C.

Agent4699
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-15-2013

Re: Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Message 6 of 11
(9,268 Views)
I cannot get my multi room DVR to work. It works in the living room but not the bedroom. I tried the in house agent and resetting the boxes and the settings on both boxes. Nothing. I pay for the multi room DVR and this is disappointing
lacticacidtrip
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 377
Registered: ‎10-23-2008

Re: Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Message 7 of 11
(9,264 Views)

Hi Agent4699,

 

Please describe your symptoms further. How many DVR's do you have? How many STB's do you have? Are you saying that you can view recordings on the DVR, but not any STB's? Or some STB's, but not all? Has it ever worked correctly or did it just stop working recently? When you press the DVR button for an STB, what does the screen say? When you press play on a recording, what happens?


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

starrin
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎09-25-2008

Re: Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Message 8 of 11
(9,252 Views)

Another thing to consider is the SD Vs HD situation.  If your LR set up is an HDTV and you are recording in HD, it will not display on SD sets supported by SD boxes.  However, your screen display should tell you this.  (And if the boxes in the other rooms are the SD DCT700, then you can't even display a menu.)

I just checked, and one of the SD TVs I have uses a better SD box - QIP2500-3.  I can display on that TV shows from the DVR that are SD, but not HD.  And it tells me that - that the box is not equipped to handle HD signals

 

enzof1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-17-2017

Re: Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Message 9 of 11
(2,935 Views)

You aren't the only one.  I thought I was only paying for the hd dvr service in my den.  But my bill clearly states that I am paying for multi-room hd dvr service & have been doing so for years.  I requested a hd box from verizon to replace one of my sd boxes to resolve this problem & ended up cancelling the new box immediately because the were going charge an additional $24.99 for that box, even though I have been paying verizon for a service I haven't been receiving.  Really $24.99 for a made in China cable box that probably isn't worth $100.00.  This is the equivalent of a rental car company renting you a car & charging you extra for the engine.  .

enzof1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-17-2017

Re: Multi room DVR is not working in the other rooms

Message 10 of 11
(2,933 Views)

Let me make something clear that would have been an additional $24.99 per month.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title