Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-05-2012

Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Message 1 of 10
(8,346 Views)

So I just got FIOS.  I have 2 tv's next to each other in my living room.  I have a separate box for them.  I want to be able to control them separately.  How can I do this?  With DirecTV, I was able to do this by switching one of the remotes to a mode where it only interacted with one specific box.  I would like to do the same thing with Fios, how can I go about doing it.  currently, both remotes control both tv's, so i cant really use it.

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-05-2012

Re: Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Message 2 of 10
(8,329 Views)

Surely I can't be the only **bleep** who wants two tv's next to each other?

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Message 3 of 10
(8,314 Views)

FiOS does not have the same functionality as DirecTV in this regard.  All remotes work for all STBs.  You could try separating the IR receivers of the two STBs by installing IR extenders which could allow you to point to separate places to control the respective STB.  When the IR extender is installed, the on-box IR receiver is disabled.  See https://teleproducts.verizon.com/fios/index.cfm/eh/DisplayProducts. 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-05-2012

Re: Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Message 4 of 10
(8,307 Views)

Do you know if there is a third party product (like a universal remote) that I can buy to solve this?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-26-2010

Re: Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Message 5 of 10
(8,283 Views)

 I don't think a different remote will do it. I believe that Directv boxes can be controlled with either infrared (like a verizon remote) or RF remotes so you could set each box to respond to either of the two remotes. I guess the manufacturer of the cable box (Motorola) would have to build in that ability.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-26-2010

Re: Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Message 6 of 10
(8,281 Views)

****update!!** If you have a smartphone or tablet go (on one of the  two set-top boxes) to "widgets > ok to expand > all > Fios mobile remote. The instructions tell you how to pair your wireless device with a specific set-top box and control the box via the wireless router.  Sorry, not sure why I didnt think of that before!

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-05-2012

Re: Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Message 7 of 10
(8,259 Views)

That sounds promising, but the only problem is, if I did that (say I made my iPad the primary remote for one STB), wouldnt it still change the channel when i used the remote for the other STB? 

 

But if that works, wouldn't I be able to do something similar with a universal remote?

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-05-2012

Re: Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Message 8 of 10
(8,258 Views)

Or are you saying that I could then block the sensor on one STB because the mobile controls uses the internet rather than the sensor (apologize for my crude terminology)

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Message 9 of 10
(8,244 Views)

@ppearson99 wrote:

That sounds promising, but the only problem is, if I did that (say I made my iPad the primary remote for one STB), wouldnt it still change the channel when i used the remote for the other STB? 

 

But if that works, wouldn't I be able to do something similar with a universal remote?


You could switch the iPad (or Anrdoid device) app back and forth between the two, thus controlling either at different times. The app communicates with the STB via WiFi and connects to a specific STB when you use it, so it only controls one STB at a time.  You wouldn't have to use the IR remote.

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-28-2010

Re: Multiple TVs / boxes in same room - How to?

Message 10 of 10
(8,016 Views)

I have two set-top boxes next to each other and I control them independently using a pair of NextGen Remote Extender Plus units (each using a different frequency):

 

http://www.nextgen.us/NextGen_Remote_Extender_Plus_p/remoteextenderplus.htm

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.