Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Mute and volume buttons not working on remote

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-25-2020

Mute and volume buttons not working on remote

Message 1 of 9
(18,021 Views)

All the buttons work on my remotes except for the mute and volume up and down buttons. Does this mean I just need new remotes? Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,146
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Mute and volume buttons not working on remote

Message 7 of 9
(6,674 Views)

@Bevotex wrote:

I did as you suggested but after “settings” mine goes to “audio & video” then “audio” and I have none of the options described. I just don’t seem to have the same options. 

please help if you can. 


Menu>settings>Voice control>Fios voice remote>program voice remote>reset remote setup. Then go back and do a manual program for the TV you own. This assumes you have a voice control remote. If you have the older non-voice remote, go here:

https://www.verizon.com/foryourhome/vzrepair/flowengine/UFDService.aspx?Keyword=FIX_STBREMOTES

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,146
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Mute and volume buttons not working on remote

Message 2 of 9
(17,804 Views)

If you have the voice remotes you need to remember to point them at the tv to work. They are Bluetooth to the Fios box, but infrared to the tv. If you still can't get them to work go to: settings>voice control>fios voice remote>Program Fios voice remote>Manual setup and follow directions to setup your make and model of tv. Don't forget to restart Fios Box afterwards.

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,146
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Mute and volume buttons not working on remote

Message 3 of 9
(17,775 Views)

Try this from support:

Steps to reset programming is as below:
Steps: Menu > Settings > Voice control > Fios TV Voice Remote > Program FiOS TV Voice Remote > Reset remote setup.
Do you wish to continue: Hit OK for Yes.
Wait until it says Remote Programming Reset Success.  
 
After the above is complete, 
Initiate Programming of TV first (Menu > Settings > Voice control > Fios TV Voice Remote > Program FiOS TV Voice Remote > Auto Program/Manual Program) followed by the programming of the Audio device
 
Also sharing some general guidelines below that should be kept in mind when programming the TV or the Audio device/Receiver
Key points to remember:

1. When the setup has a Receiver/Audio device b/w STB and TV and connected via HDMI, Make sure it is powered ON. Sometimes the Receiver/Audio device can be powered OFF and because of that, the remote might only be auto programmed to TV and not to the Receiver/Audio device

2. If you don't see Volume change during programming process (either Auto or Manual), Select the option: No - Let's try another code set for your TV.

Try this a few times until you see volume change or else enter the Model# manually

3. Make sure remote is pointed directly to the device (TV or Receiver/Audio device) when pressing "OK" to test Volume or Power.

Please note that only the OK key is used for both Volume and Power tests during the programming and using any other key during the setup might hamper the programming flows.

 
 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-12-2020

Re: Mute and volume buttons not working on remote for TV

Message 4 of 9
(11,705 Views)

Verizon should tell you that the remote needs to be reset and than program for auto update to get the volume to work on TV using their remote,   That would make things better when you get a new TV mini.

 

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-02-2020

Re: Mute and volume buttons not working on remote

Message 5 of 9
(7,192 Views)

Try resetting the remote. Hit “Menu” on your remote, select “settings” then “voice control” then “Fios TV voice remote” then “Program Fios TV Voice Remote” then “reset remote setup.” After resetting, redo previous steps this time selecting “manual setup” following instructions to complete that setup. Remote volume/mute should work. Cheers!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-06-2020

Re: Mute and volume buttons not working on remote

Message 6 of 9
(6,699 Views)

I did as you suggested but after “settings” mine goes to “audio & video” then “audio” and I have none of the options described. I just don’t seem to have the same options. 

please help if you can. 

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,146
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Mute and volume buttons not working on remote

Message 7 of 9
(6,675 Views)

@Bevotex wrote:

I did as you suggested but after “settings” mine goes to “audio & video” then “audio” and I have none of the options described. I just don’t seem to have the same options. 

please help if you can. 


Menu>settings>Voice control>Fios voice remote>program voice remote>reset remote setup. Then go back and do a manual program for the TV you own. This assumes you have a voice control remote. If you have the older non-voice remote, go here:

https://www.verizon.com/foryourhome/vzrepair/flowengine/UFDService.aspx?Keyword=FIX_STBREMOTES

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-10-2010

Re: Mute and volume buttons not working on remote

Message 8 of 9
(3,574 Views)

My menu doesn't have this option regarding a remote control. I have a P265v3 remote.

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,146
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Mute and volume buttons not working on remote

Message 9 of 9
(3,544 Views)
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.