Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

My DVR is not working

Reply
Neneandveve
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

My DVR is not working

Message 1 of 6
(3,267 Views)

The picture freezes every few minutes, the screen goes black and the number to call appears. I press b to troubleshoot or call the number. The box is reset but in the meantime I lost a portion of the program. Then it freezes again within 10 minutes and I start all over again. I am frustrated and disappointed. I would like to watch TV without the drama. This is FiOS!!!

5 REPLIES 5
GaryDoug
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: My DVR is not working

Message 2 of 6
(3,255 Views)

What I would do, the impetious fool I am:

Unplug the DVR, take it to your local Verizon store, and swap it for a new one.

 

lasagna
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,002
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: My DVR is not working

Message 3 of 6
(3,230 Views)

Actually this could be a bad connection or splitter problem ... had a very similar situation on my upstairs STB.  I disconnected everything (coax connections) and reconnected them and replaced a splitter and everything started working again.   That message screen is indicative of too low of a signal coming into the STB and would appear to affect certain channels (those running at higher frequencies) more than others (there is not correlation between a channel number and the frequencies -- higher numbers don't equate to higher frequencies and two adjacent channels can be on frequencies at complete opposite ends of the spectrum).  If the problem persist, someone here can tell you how to check the signal level for a particular channel and you can see if this is the case.

 

 

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: My DVR is not working

Message 4 of 6
(3,190 Views)

 


@GaryDoug wrote:

What I would do, the impetious fool I am:

Unplug the DVR, take it to your local Verizon store, and swap it for a new one.

 


What I would do is buy a Tivo and order a cable card. Then take the OLD DVR to the Verizon store and get a receipt.Smiley Very Happy

 

tdavek
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-09-2010

Re: My DVR is not working

Message 5 of 6
(3,100 Views)

 


@GaryDoug wrote:

What I would do, the impetious fool I am:

Unplug the DVR, take it to your local Verizon store, and swap it for a new one.

 


Have you actually done this?  AFAIK, the stores in TX, FL and CA don't do swaps.  You can return a box, but not swap for a new one.

 

GaryDoug
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: My DVR is not working

Message 6 of 6
(3,088 Views)

Yes. I did a DVR swap in the Verizon store in the Gulfview Mall in New Port Richey, Florida. That was about 3 months ago and I called ahead to make sure they had one in stock. Of course, they might have just liked the sound of my voice or something 😉

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title