×

Switch Account

No Sound from Soundbar

No Sound from Soundbar

Reply
Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎01-20-2009
Message 1 of 6
(673 Views)

Equipment:

 

Verizon Fios box (non dvr)

PS4 Slim (gaming unit); HDMI out to TV

RCA 48” HDTV, with digital audio (coaxial only) output.

Vizio Soundbar, model sb3621n e8

 

I’m not getting any sound from my soundbar when I watch regular TV programming—Only from the TV monitor’s speaker.

 

I have the TV digital audio out (coaxial) going into the digital audio in (coaxial) to the soundbar. Best Buy told me I would be able to get the PS4 audio and regular TV audio thru the soundbar this way.

 

Update: I have a converter box coming that will connect to my coaxial out cable and enable me to use optical input. Maybe that will do the trick.    —Dale

5 REPLIES 5
MVP clem53 MVP
MVP
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
Message 2 of 6
(646 Views)

Go into service menu, power off at box, ok 2x quickly, left arrow, user settings, additional HDMI settings, change audio to LPCM, power off. That should do it.

MVP CRobGauth MVP
MVP
Posts: 7,707
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 3 of 6
(605 Views)

Does TV have a setting for audio out?

And is Soundbar set for Digital Audio In via coax?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
MVP clem53 MVP
MVP
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
Message 4 of 6
(595 Views)

@dale001 wrote:

Equipment:

 

Verizon Fios box (non dvr)

PS4 Slim (gaming unit); HDMI out to TV

RCA 48” HDTV, with digital audio (coaxial only) output.

Vizio Soundbar, model sb3621n e8

 

I’m not getting any sound from my soundbar when I watch regular TV programming—Only from the TV monitor’s speaker.

 

I have the TV digital audio out (coaxial) going into the digital audio in (coaxial) to the soundbar. Best Buy told me I would be able to get the PS4 audio and regular TV audio thru the soundbar this way.

 

Update: I have a converter box coming that will connect to my coaxial out cable and enable me to use optical input. Maybe that will do the trick.    —Dale


Another thought, have you tried optical out of cable box to optical in of soundbar?

MVP CRobGauth MVP
MVP
Posts: 7,707
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 5 of 6
(593 Views)

Op stated they are doing it from TV so that they can also use soundbar for ps4 and regular tv as well as via stb.

I have done the same for use while using roku and game system plus stb.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
MVP clem53 MVP
MVP
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
Message 6 of 6
(573 Views)

@CRobGauth wrote:

Op stated they are doing it from TV so that they can also use soundbar for ps4 and regular tv as well as via stb.

I have done the same for use while using roku and game system plus stb.


Wanted to see if issue was with signal from fios box to soundbar, or from TV to soundbar. By trying direct to fios box, you can pretty much eliminate or confirm it as source of problem.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.