Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

No more actors in Info?

Reply
mwexler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

No more actors in Info?

Message 1 of 11
(8,144 Views)

In the new channel lineup changes that have swept the northeast, anyone else notice that the Info panel, the screen which tells you what movie you are watching, no longer lists the actors names?  I found it very handy to see who was starring in a movie I stumbled across. 

 

Now, the listings do not include actors, and are shorter than they used to be.  This is very disappointing.  I hope they put it back the way it used to be.

 

Michael

10 REPLIES 10
matcarl
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: No more actors in Info?

Message 2 of 11
(8,133 Views)

Yes, I noticed it also. This happened about a month or two back also, it lasted about two weeks. I'm sure they are working on it and it will be back.

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: No more actors in Info?

Message 3 of 11
(8,012 Views)
They were in an out and back in here in Southern California.  The are currently in.  Try resetting your box.
mwexler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: No more actors in Info?

Message 4 of 11
(8,006 Views)
By "reset the box", do you mean pull the plug out of the wall, count to 10, re plug in?  Is there a key press (ala ctrl-alt-delete, say some combo on the front or on the remote) that can do this, or should I power cycle each box?
PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: No more actors in Info?

Message 5 of 11
(8,004 Views)

@mwexler wrote:
By "reset the box", do you mean pull the plug out of the wall, count to 10, re plug in?  Is there a key press (ala ctrl-alt-delete, say some combo on the front or on the remote) that can do this, or should I power cycle each box?

 

First power the box off and then on by pulling the plug.  You can try a hard reset from the "My Verizon" web site (https://www22.verizon.com/myverizon/).  On that site, under the TV service, you should see your box listed and the ability to reset it.
mwexler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: No more actors in Info?

Message 6 of 11
(7,924 Views)
Sadly, I've tried to reset the boxes a few times, and still no actors information, still limited program info per show.  Very disappointing.  I'll wait a few more days and post again here, but I think Verizon has chosen to use "reduced listings" instead of "full listings" for my area.  I hope they reconsider.
matcarl
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: No more actors in Info?

Message 7 of 11
(7,919 Views)
A reboot won't make them magically appear again, they will be back like I've said.
speedo123
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎08-11-2008

Re: No more actors in Info?

Message 8 of 11
(7,847 Views)
They also don't show the year a movie was released or a show was aired anymore.  Will they add that back too (I hope!)?
WithAK
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-30-2008

Re: No more actors in Info?

Message 9 of 11
(7,660 Views)
Why not have a Verizon employee get FIOS service in Los Angeles? Noone in the company could possibly enjoy anything about their Guide we have here.
Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: No more actors in Info?

Message 10 of 11
(7,654 Views)

@WithAK wrote:
Why not have a Verizon employee get FIOS service in Los Angeles? Noone in the company could possibly enjoy anything about their Guide we have here.

What makes you think LA is special?  It's just as bad everywhere else.  Until Verizon dumps FYI (the guide information provider) the guide and their DVR will be basically worthless. 

 

My DVR is now just a glorified dumb VCR since at least half the time I have to schedule my recordings manually because of crappy guide information.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.